KFAS announces winners of Kuwait 2021 Prize

This news has been read 11782 times!

KUWAIT CITY, Oct 6: Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS) announced Thursday winners of the Kuwait 2021 Prize.

The Prize is given annually to distinguished Arab scientists who have made outstanding achievements and contributions. In a statement, KFAS Director General Dr. Khaled Al-Fadhel said the Award amounts to KD 40,000 (about USD 132,000) for each of the four fields. The statement added that the ‘Condensed Matter Physics’ prize was equally awarded to Saudi scientist Dr. Othman Bakr and Egyptian scientist Dr. Omar Abdulsabour, who worked together at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in Saudi Arabia, as their research focused on the use of perovskite material in solar energy applications and high-energy radiation sensors.

The prize for ‘Applied Medical Sciences’, went to Egyptian scientist Dr. Nabil Sidah and his Lebanese peer Ali Taher, on their research and treatment experiments on Thalassemia and high cholesterol. The prize for ‘Educational Sciences’ went to Lebanese Dr. Fuad Abdulkhaleq on researching STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) in classrooms to enhance students’ skills. The prize for ‘Linguistics’ went to Lebanese scholar Dr. Ramzi Baalbaki. The Kuwait Prize was established in 1979 in accordance with the objectives of KFAS of supporting scientific research, innovation and creativity. (KUNA)

This news has been read 11782 times!

Related Articles

Back to top button

Advt Blocker Detected

Kindly disable the Ad blocker

Verified by MonsterInsights