------------- -------------- ------------------- -------------------
Thursday , September 29 2022

Twenty-fourth Gulf Cup continues legacy of popular soccer tourney

This post has been read 6577 times!

Tournament kicks off in Qatar

The Kuwaiti team winners of the 4th Gulf Cup in Qatar 1976.

KUWAIT CITY, Nov 25, (KUNA): The 24th Gulf Cup in Doha, Qatar, scheduled from Nov 26-Dec 8, will continue the legacy of the prestigious tournament, which first kicked off in the early 70s.

In 1970, Bahrain was the venue of the first-ever Gulf Cup tournament with the four teams of Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait and Bahrain taking part. Kuwait were crowned champions.

Saudi Arabia hosted the second tournament in 1972 with the participation of the five teams of Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Bahrain. Again, the Kuwaitis were crowned champions.

Two years forward, Kuwait hosted the tournament in 1974 with the participation of the six teams of Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, the UAE and Oman. The teams were separated in two groups with Kuwait coming up on top again.

The 1976 tournament saw the participation of Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, the UAE, Oman and hosts Qatar.

Kuwait dominated the tournament, winning it for the fourth time in a row.

In 1979, the Kuwaiti dominance over the tournament was broken with Iraq winning the tournament they hosted.

Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, the UAE, Oman, Bahrain and Iraq took part in the competition.

The UAE hosted the sixth tournament in 1982 with the participation of seven countries. Kuwait came back and retained the title.

Oman hosted the seventh tournament in 1984. The Iraqis returned home as champions.

In 1986, Kuwait won the tournament, which was held in Bahrain. This was the Kuwaiti team’s sixth title.

Saudi Arabia hosted the 1988 tournament. Iraq won the title for the third time.

In 1990, Kuwait hosted the tournament and their team were crowned champions for the seventh time. Iraq withdrew from the competition.

Qatar hosted the 1992 Gulf Cup. The 11th edition of the tournament, which was missing the Iraqi team, saw the hosts Qatar win the tournament for the very first time.

The UAE hosted the 1994 Gulf Cup tournament with six teams participating. Saudi Arabia won the tournament for the first time since the tournament kicked off.

The 13th edition of the tournament was held in Oman in 1996. Kuwait came back to the winners’ podium, clinching their eighth title.

Bahrain hosted the tournament in 1998. Kuwait won the title for the ninth time.

In 2002, Saudi Arabia hosted the tournament and won the title for the second time.

Kuwait’s 2003 tournament saw Saudi Arabia continuing to dominate, winning the trophy for the third time.

The 2004 tournament held in Qatar saw eight teams partaking in the event. Qatar won the tournament for the second time in their history.

The UAE’s 18th edition of the championship in 2007 saw the hosts winning the title for the very first time.

Oman hosted the 19th incarnation of the tournament and the host country won the title for the first time since the tournament was held.

Yemen, the new team to be included in the tournament, hosted the 2010 Gulf Cup. Kuwait won the title for the tenth time.

Bahrain’s 2013 tournament saw the UAE winning the title for the second time. In 2014, Qatar snatched their third title in the tournament held in Saudi Arabia.

In 2017, Kuwait hosted the 23rd Gulf Cup with the participation of eight teams. Oman won the title for the second time in the history of the tournament.

Check Also

Kuwait coach plays down 10-time champions chances in Gulf Cup

This post has been read 6578 times! Iraq stun Qatar as Gulf Cup kicks off …