------------- -------------- ------------------- -------------------

Power Station, DMDA Bowleros top leaderboard – Cozmo & Klasmeyts/NLB thump rivals

KUWAIT CITY, Sept 22: Three weeks into the 11-week elimination round of the on-going FTBK-DOLLARCO Tenpin Bowling Team Tournament being held at the Cozmo Entertainment Center bowling lanes in Salmiya, the Indian Keglers of Power Station and the DMDA Bowleros architectural designers emerged on top of the current leader board after winning their scheduled match over separate opponents. Moving into contention after decisively thumping their respective rivals were the entertainment magnates of Cozmo Salmiya and Klasmeyts/NLB Corporation. Also in the winner’s circle this week Siete Pares 1 and defending champion K2E2.

For the second consecutive week, the DMDA Bowleros grabbed the weekly high series award after their sweeping win over the off form OGBL/Abannte Pin Crackers. With their confidence level still relatively high, the DMDA Bowleros did not give their beleaguered opponents any leeway in the entire match as they book four consecutive impressive victories en-route to a clear cut 3324-2895 total pin falls win.

Sharing the scoring chores for the architectural designers in their 817-779, 836-720, 830-652 and 816-744 game victories were Alfred Avila, Elvie Sotio, Chit Mariano, Al Belarmino and Sonny Mariano. Suiting up for the OGBL/Abannte who will have their hands full in their upcoming matches were Vicky Navarro, Mousa Abdullah, Glenn Corbit, Jun Guerra and Jheng Liwayway.

Meanwhile, the Spicy Pin Busters of Power Station retained the yellow jersey but not after coming from an opening game loss before eking out that nail biting nip and tuck win against D’ Islanders. Spearheaded by Bobby Carambas, Bert Pantanilla, Orly Reyes, Danny Doctor and Edgar Miguel, D’ Islanders grabbed the early lead through a 771-704 decision in game one of the 4-game series match. On the next game, Power Station returned to the lanes like a fully charged battery and closed in on D’ Islanders with their own 786-732 victory.

Going to the pivotal third game, D’ Islanders was still slightly ahead after two games 1503-1490 but through the electrifying performance of Anastasius Menezes and Siddharth Nair, Power Station snatched the driver’s seat from their nemesis via a 792-751 victory. The D’ Islanders tried their best to turn the tide in their favor in the final game, but Power Station won’t be denied as they went on to win game four 766-740 and the match via a final tally of 3073-2994. Carrying the rest of the scoring load for Power Station in this outing were Uly Menezes, Fatima Sequiera and Jason D’ Souza.

In similar fashion, the joint forces of Klasmeyts/NLB Corporation overcame a slow start in turning back a stubborn Rock N Bowl squad 3124-3022. Headed by Romy Fermil, Romy Daus, Tariq Sairat and Rod Llait, Rock N Bowl dominated their rivals in the first game of the encounter in posting their easy 765-696 victory to take the early lead.

Fielding the right combination in game two that resulted in an 819-750 success, Klasmeyts/NLB caught up with Rock N Bowl as they tied the score at 1515 pin falls apiece. With another 792-763 win that was followed by a closing 792-744 decision in game four, Klasmeyts/NLB went on to collect their second consecutive match victory. Bowling for the winners in this stint were Bong Bermillo, Rudy Zablan, Ric Marimla, Emma Gatus and Cris Bulacja.

Meanwhile, Cozmo Salmiya made a bold move in the third week of the elimination round wherein they barged into the Top 8 after hugging the last position in the week team standings. In their week 3 outing against the Siete Pares 2 lane masters, the entertainment magnates of Cozmo came back strong after an opening game loss to post a scintillating 3290-3042 total pin falls victory.

With Lito Igot, Mario Santos, Dorcas Sansone and JR Angeles manning the post, Siete Pares 2 grabbed the upper hand by booking a 785-719 win in game one. Shaken back to their senses by the defeat, the Cozmo Keglers report back for duty ready for tenpin lane hostilities. Led by Bader Malallah, Aga Cuadrazal, Vernie Villaruel, Monico Sabater and Abdul Khadeer Faroq, Cozmo convincingly swept away Siete Pares 2 in the three remaining games 854-762, 792-727 and 900-768.

In the other two match-up of the day, Siete Pares 1 led by Rico Galang, Manny Nazaire, Egay Cabido, Rita Vidana, Jazel Pangilinan and Nitz Alinea stopped Napesco Strikers X 3010-2821 with defending champion K2E2 bannered Lee Mills, Jess farne, Edwin Latoja, Butch Alinea, Danny San Juan and Jhet Tan nipping World Class 3008-2962.

For the individual and team high scores the current record holders are as follows: Individual High Game Men Class O/A-Mousa Abdullah 246, Men Class B-Anastasius Menezes 222, Ladies- Elvie Sotio 234; High Average Men Class O/A-Edwin Latoja 195, Men Class B-Jess Farne 182, Ladies-Liza Catapia 177; Team High Game-World Class 770 and Team High Series-DMDA Bowleros 3199.

The team standings after the second week are as follows (read as rank, team name and total score); 1. Power Station -9422, 2. DMDA Bowleros -9341, 3. K2E2-9217, 4. Rock N Bowl -9075, 5. Klasmeyts/NLB -9040, 6. Siete Pares 1-9021, 7. World Class-8958, 8. Cozmo Salmiya -8925, 9. Siete Pares 2-8850, 10. D’ Islanders -8803, 11. OGBL/Abannte-8764, 12. Napesco Strikers X -8683.

By Miguel Carlos

Special to the Arab Times

Check Also

Australia’s Cooley tops WBT-PBA 13th Kuwait Int’l Open 2019

Participants of the WBT-PBA 13th Kuwait International Open 2019. The WBT-PBA 13th Kuwait International Open …

Translate »