-- ------------- -------------- ------------------- -------------------
Monday , February 6 2023

Opposition wins no confidence vote against Pakistani PM Imran Khan

This post has been read 11295 times!

ISLAMABAD, April 9: The joint opposition in the National Assembly have won the no confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan in the lower house, ending the term of the prime minister.

According to state-owned Radio Pakistan, the opposition’s no confidence motion against Khan succeeded with 174 voting in favour in the 342-member National Assembly. With this, Khan ceases to hold the office of Prime Minister. The Presiding Officer of the assembly, Sardar Sadiq announced the result.

Khan has become the first ever Pakistani prime minister to be ousted through a vote of no confidence in the parliament. Members of Parliament affiliated with the ruling Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf left the house after National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser stepped down from his post, handing over the charge to Sadiq; a leader of the opposition party Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz. The National Assembly will now elect a new leader of the House. The National Assembly Secretariat will issue an election schedule in this regard.

Earlier on Thursday, Supreme Court of Pakistan has set aside ruling of the National Assembly Deputy Speaker to dismiss the resolution against Premier Khan and the subsequent dissolution of the lower house by the President on the Prime Minister’s advice. The apex court also ruled that President Arif Alvi’s decision to dissolve the National Assembly was “illegal” and restored Prime Minister Khan as well as his cabinet(KUNA)