--------- AMP -----------
Monday , December 10 2018

Mousa and Danny rule Men’s Division – Elvie Clinches FTBK — Robinson Ladies Masters event title

FTBK – Robinsons land masters event Men Group 2 finalists.
FTBK – Robinsons land masters event Men Group 2 finalists.

KUWAIT CITY, Oct 13: At the conclusion of the 2016 FTBK-Robinsons Land Tenpin Bowling Tournament Season 9 Masters Event, Mousa Abdullah of Siete Pares 1 banked on his superb performance in the 8-game series competition to emerge victorious in Group 1 Men’s Division of this event held at the Cozmo Entertainment Center bowling lanes in Salmiya.

The Men Group 2 side on the other hand saw K2E2 Thunder Danny San Juan a long shot leading from start to finish to grab the coveted title as he brushed aside the fast closing Romy Daus of team Rock N Bowl. In the Ladies Division of this event organized by the Filipino Tenpin Bowlers-Kuwait and sponsored by Robinsons Land, Elvie Sotio banked on her tenacious opening games to turn back DMDA Bowleros team mate Chit Mariano.

The qualifiers in the Masters Event were determined based on the bowler’s average score in the elimination round of the team event and each participant must bowl at least 12 games in order to qualify. Suiting up to vie for the Men’s Division Group 1 title and the top prizes at stake were JR Sabado, Nelson De leon, Rod Llait, Rudy Zablan, Egay Cabildo, Romy Fermil, Aga Cuadrazal, JR Sabado, Rico Galang, Ronnel Valencia, and Chris Bulacja,. Grabbing the early lead was Mousa Abdullah who rolled a 213 and 263 for an opening 2-game block score of 376 pin falls. Joining Mousa in the lead pack were Rico Galang-367, Chris Bulacja-366, Egay Cabildo-364, Newell Sioxch-363 and JR Sabado with 361. Through his 214 and 186 scores in the next two games, Mousa Abdullah Retained the number one spot with his 4-game series score of 776 pin falls. Chasing the leader at this stage were Rico Galang-741 Chris Bulacja-736, Ronnel Valencia-726 and Nelson De Leon-722.

The battle for supremacy turned into a one man show as the razor sharp Mousa Abdullah pulled away from the rest of the field after raking in 234 and 213 scores in games 5 and 6 which put his 6-game tally to 1,223 pin falls. With the contest relegated down to runner up posts, Nelson De Leon who submitted a 160 and 222 grabbed the second spot with 1,104 closely followed by Romy Fermil-1,075, Rudy Zablan-1,071 and Rico Galang-1,069. By closing with a 186 and 229, Mousa Abdullah breezed home with the Group 1 title with a final 8-game series score of 1,630 pin falls. Rico Galang through his 211 and 216 scores in the last two games booked the first runner up honors with 1,496 and taking the second runner up plum was Chris Bulacja with 1,476.

In men Group 2, the masters event contenders were Jess Farne, Danny San Juan, Dexter Nebres,, Romy Daus, Edgar Pascua, Mario Santos, Paul Arcayan, Tariq Sairat, Bobby Carambas, Cris Batucan, Abdul Khadder Faruk, Butch Alinea, Ronald Ferolino, Joey Concepcion, Fredy Marzo and Alex Nodalo. With his 171 and 210 scores in games 1 and 2, Danny San Juan was the early pace setter courtesy of his 381 tally. Also off to a good start were Alex Nodalo-348, Abdul Khadder Faruk-345, Ronald Ferolino-343 and Romy Daus-339. At the halfway mark of the 8-game series competition, Danny San Juan stayed put in front as he dished out a 150 and 187 in game 3 and 4 for a 4-game series score of 718. Romy Daus with 690 moved up to second place at this stage followed now by Edgar Pascua-682, Dexter Nebres-669, Abdul Khadder Faruk-666 and Butch Alinea-664.

In the crucial third 2-game block where he rolled a 204 and 192, Danny San Juan showed a lot of grit as he hang on to the lead with 1,114 pin falls. And with just two games left to bowl, the remaining contenders for the top 3 positions were Romy Daus-1,089, Dexter Nebres-1,040, Edgar Pascua-1,034 and Jess Farne-1,014. By completing his stint with a modest 169 and 167 scores, Danny San Juan lifted his first ever FTBK Group 2 Masters title via a total score of 1,450 pin falls. Romy Daus with 1,423 emerged as 1st runner up and Paul Arcayan on the other hand clinch the 2nd runner up position after garnering a total score of 1,381 pin falls.

Finally in the Ladies Division, the finalists were Rita Vidana, Maricar Ruben, Dorcas Sansone, Jheng Liwayway, Liza Catapia, Norie Sairat, Elvie Sotio, Gina Ashley, Chit Mariano, and Vicky Navarro. Off to a flying start to assume the role of front runner after the first two games was Elvie Sotio with 3,419 pin falls followed by Chit Mariano-366, Norie Sairat-366, Gina Ashley-348 and Dorcas Sansone-346. Midway the 8-game series event, Elvie Sotio (778) kept a 5-mark advantage over her closest pursuer headed by Jheng Liwayway-727, Chit Mariano-723, Norie Sairat-690 and Dorcas Sansone-663.

After the sixth game, the front running Elvie Sotio (1,114) bowled below par paving the way for Chit Mariano (1,106) and Jheng Liwayway (1,097) gather momentum and inch closer to the leader. Still in contention at this point were Norie Sairat-1,056, Dorcas Sansone-993 and Liza Catapia-990. In the penultimate game 7, Elvie Sotio showed her mettle as a true champion as she came back with a 216 before easing out with a 149 enough for her to grabb the Ladies Division Masters title with a final tally of 1,439 pin falls. Chit Mariano gamely finished in second place with 1,457 followed by Jheng Liwayway in third place with 1,433.

By Miguel Carlos

Special to the Arab Times


Check Also

Al Qwassem All Stars overpower NLB to grab FTBK tourney lead

Clash of Strikes brush aside K2E2 Thunders KUWAIT CITY, June 6: Living up to their …

Translate »