------------- -------------- ------------------- -------------------

Goan League leaders held goalless

St Rita Maina thrash Navelim Stars 4-0

Alston Pinho of Amigos won the man of the match presented by Sylvester.

KUWAIT CITY, Oct 5: League Leaders Holy Spirit, Margao were held to a goalless draw by Miracles SC on an exciting evening of Goan football. Complete match summary of the Goan Football League played on Sept 27, 2019 at Bayan Grounds is as follows:

In Group A, Capxem Boys drew with Pasha Boys 1-1.

Mario Rapozo (1) scored for Capxem Boys while Noel Almeida scored for Pasha Boys.

Mario Rapozo of Capxem boys won the man of the match. The award was presented by Natolina Pires.

Leon Periera (2), Josse (1), Timoteo (1) scored for St Rita, Maina, to thrash Navelim Stars 4-0.

Navelim have some fearsome star players of yesteryear in their ranks but they seem to have become paper tigers in recent years. Josse of St Rita Maina was awarded man of the match handed over by Bernardo Rodrigues.

Unbeaten and league leaders in Group A, Holy Spirit, Margao drew with Miracles in a goalless draw.Star defender John Furtado of Holy Spirit was awarded man of the match at the hands of Vincy Pereira.

Group B matches were also very exciting. In a one-sided first match on Ground B, Amigos de Jardine thrashed Dynamos FC 5-0.

Alston Pinho (1), Jayden (2), Justin (1), Avito (1) scored for Amigos.

Alston Pinho of Amigos won the man of the match presented by Sylvester.

Anthony Rego scored the match winner for CRC Chinchinim against Le Blues. Anthony was later awarded man of the match, the award was handed over by Valentino.

The last match of in Group B was a 4-goal thriller.

Steevan Rodrigues (1), Kevin Vaz (1) scored for Goa Strikers while Cleto (1), and Mairon Fernandes scored for St Christopher.

Sandy Fernandes of Goa Strikers was adjudged man of the match, his second of the league. The award was presented by Jovito Azavedo.

The league has seen a large number of players and the Goan community in Kuwait come together.

The innovative idea of the league was conceptualized by Manuel D’Costa, and Austine Abreo.

Core Committee of GFAK consists of Manuel D’Costa, Austine Abreo, Melvin Fernandes, Agricio D’Mello, Salvador Dias, Cajetan Fernandes, Marshall Fernandes, Carlos Fernandes, etc.

By Gasper Crasto

Translate »