------------- --------------
Friday , October 18 2019

Belarmino, Santos reign supreme in Men’s Division

Janet bags Ladies Masters title

Men’s Group 1 winners

KUWAIT CITY, April 21: At the Masters Event finals of the 2018 Season 12 FTBK Tenpin Bowling Team Tournament, Al Belarmino of the DMDA Bowleros relied on his superb performance midway of the 8-game series competition to reign supreme in Men’s Division Group 1 of this event held at the Cozmo Entertainment Center bowling lanes in Salmiya.

The Men Group 2 side on the other hand saw Siete Pares 2 lane master Mario Santos snatching the coveted title as he brushed aside the tough and determined Colin Costa of Lane Surferzz. In the Ladies Division of this event organized by the Filipino Tenpin Bowlers- Kuwait (FTBK), D’ Islanders stalwart Janet Shaikh banked on her tenacious game 5 and 6 performance to win with plenty to spare.

Men’s Group 2 winners

In the Masters Event the finalists in the three groups were determined based on the bowler’s average score in the elimination round of the team event and each participant must bowl the required minimum 12 games in order to qualify. Stepping up to vie for the Men’s Division Group 1 title and the top prizes at stake were Al Belarmino, Fadel Qwassem, Faie Reyel, Edwin Latoja, Rani Skeik, Ronnel Valencia, JR Sabado, Farid Gabriel, Rod Llait, Rudy Zablan, Egay Cabildo, Romy Fermil, Nelson De Leon, Chris Bulacja, Mousa Abdullah and Glenn Corbit who topped the group by clinching the high average award. Grabbing the early lead was Ronnel Valencia who rolled a 227 and 229 for an opening 2-game block score of 456 pin falls. Joining Ronnel in the lead pack were Al Belarmino-421, Chris Bulacja- 416, Romy Fermil-414, JR Sabado-390 and Faie Reyel with 388.

Ladies Division winners

Through his superb 258 and 232 scores in the next two games, Al Belarmino snatched the number one spot with his 4-game series score of 911 pin falls. Chasing the new leader at this stage were Ronnel Valencia-888, Faie Reyel-791, Chris Bulacja-783, Rudy Zablan-765 and Egay Cabildo- 759.

The battle for supremacy continued in the penultimate game of the Group 1 competition with Al Belarmino (1,096) keeping the pole position despite a considerable dip in his game 5 performance where he submitted a 180. Ronnel Valencia meanwhile remained in second spot by garnering a 5-game total score of 1,082 pin falls followed now by JR Sabado (1,026) who burned the lanes with his game 5 score of 267 pin falls. And with just a game left to bowl, the other contenders include Chris Bulacja- 991, Faie Reyel-987, Rudy Zablan-947 and Rani Skeik 932. Going to the final game of the series, Al Belarmino closed out his Masters stint with a 187 which brought his 6-game tally to 1288 pin falls that proved enough for him to lift the Group 1 title.

The fast closing JR Sabado who dished out a game 6 score of 226 took the first runner up plum with 1,257 while Ronnel Valencia settled for the second runner honors with 1,253. In the Men Group 2 side, the masters event contenders were Jun Quiblat, Jess Farne, Sonny Mariano, Mohammad Jassim, Romy Daus, Mahmoud Dashti, Mario Santos, Hassan Karam, Arnold Mendoza, Ronald Ferolino, Fadi Al Masri, Colin Costa, Siddharth Nair and Benny Chan.

With his 159 and 238 scores in games 1 and 2, Siddharth Nair was the early pace setter courtesy of his 397 pin falls tally. Also off to a good start were Mahmoud Dashti-394, Colin Costa-387, Mohammad Jassim- 376, Romy Daus-372 and Arnold Mendoza-359. At the halfway mark of the 6-game series competition, Mario Santos came out from nowhere to grab the lead as he dished out a 206 and 218 in games 3 and 4 for a 4-game series score of 774. Erstwhile pace setter Sidharth Nair slip down to second with 758 followed by Colin Costa-755, Mahmoud Dashti-747, Mohammad Jassim- 730 and Romy Daus-707.

In the crucial penultimate game, the quest for the title became a wide open affair as Mario Santos (947) despite keeping the lead was now only 7 pins ahead of Mahmoud Dashti (940). And as the group headed for the deciding game 6, the remaining contenders were Colin Costa-936, Sidharth Nair-922, Mohammad Jassim-912 and Romy Daus-897. In the nerve whacking finish, Mario Santos and Colin Costa headed towards the final frame in an all or nothing situation and as the dust of the intense pin busting settled down, Mario Santos emerged as the champion nipping Colin Costa a single pin falls 1,125-1,124.

Second runner up position went to Soddharth Nair with 1,093. Finally in the Ladies Division, the finalists were Rita Vidana, Joan Latoja, Dorcas Sansone, Liza Catapia, Norie Sairat, Chit Mariano, Jane Nance, Jheng Liwayway, Nikshita Shetty, Hanadi Mezaiel, Nadine Dias, Fatima Sequeira, Dorcas Sansone, Jacky Guitang, Gina Ashley and Vicky Navarro.

By Miguel Carlos Special to the Arab Times

Check Also

UNIMONI Exchange, IBL Tigers undisputed for top and second rank for finals

UNIMONI Exchange Incredi-Bowlers dark horse for Falcon Cargo, Swooping Eagles posts KUWAIT CITY, June 3: …

Translate »