------------- -------------- ------------------- -------------------
Saturday , August 13 2022

Saudi Arabia suspends flights to and from seven African countries

This post has been read 20279 times!

RIYADH, Nov 26: Saudi Ministry of Interior on Friday announced a temporary suspension of flights to and from seven African countries, namely South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho and Eswatini. The move was taken due to the spread of the novel coronavirus, an official source at the ministry said in a statement. Non-Saudi citizens coming from these countries are not allowed to enter the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia either through direct or indirect flights provided that they spend 14 days in other countries allowed by Saudi authorities, it added.

The exempted categories, including Saudis, coming from the seven countries should subject to a 5-day constitutional quarantine regardless of the state of vaccination, it noted. It pointed out this matter is also based on continuous follow-up of the epidemiological situation and reports of Saudi health authorities about the emergence of a mutated strain of the virus in a number of countries and the monitoring of the transmission of infected people from this strain to other countries. The source noted that all procedures and measures are subject to continuous evaluation by the Saudi competent health authorities. It warned both citizens and residents to avoid traveling to the seven countries until further notice.(KUNA)

Check Also

Riyadh acts to redefine flag

This post has been read 20280 times! Riyadh, Feb 1: Saudi Arabia is inching toward …