Record in making: Al Hilal aims for the longest winning streak  

This news has been read 1527 times!

A file photo of Al-Hilal players celebrating.

RIYADH, Feb 17: Al Hilal Saudi Arabia is on the brink of setting a new record for the longest winning streak in the history of football clubs across all tournaments.

In the 20th round of the Roshan Saudi Professional Football League, Al-Hilal is set to face Al-Raed, while Al-Ittihad will take on Al-Riyadh today. Al-Akhdood secured a 3-2 victory over Al-Ahly, maintaining Al-Ahly’s third position with 40 points, while Al-Akhdood climbed to 23 points, securing the 11th place in the league standings. Al-Shabab secured a clean goal victory over Damac, and Al-Wahda had a similar goal draw with Al-Taei.

Al Hilal’s remarkable achievement includes 21 consecutive victories in all official tournaments, encompassing the Saudi League, the King’s Cup, and the AFC Champions League. The latest victory came against Sepahan Isfahan of Iran (3-1) in the first leg of the Champions League final last Thursday.

Since the draw with Damak in the seventh round of the Saudi League on September 21, Al-Zaeem has maintained an unbroken chain of victories, winning 12 league matches, 6 Champions League matches, and 3 King Cup matches.

Under the guidance of Portuguese coach Jorge Jesus, Al Hilal has remained undefeated throughout the current season, boasting a record of 26 wins and 3 draws across all tournaments. Ajax holds the legendary record with 26 consecutive wins in the 1971-1972 season.

Al Hilal needs 7 more victories to surpass New Saints and claim the historic record, potentially securing an unprecedented achievement in the Guinness World Records. Their upcoming challenge includes a tough match against Iranian Sepahan in the second leg of the AFC Champions League round of 16, with the possibility of facing either Al-Ittihad or Uzbekistan’s Navbakhor in the quarter-finals.Currently tied with Manchester City at 21 victories each, Al Hilal eyes breaking into the top ranks of the longest winning streaks in history, noting that Manchester City achieved its series under the leadership of coach Pep Guardiola in the “2020-2021” season.

This news has been read 1527 times!

Related Articles

Back to top button

Advt Blocker Detected

Kindly disable the Ad blocker

Verified by MonsterInsights