Pakistan crush India with 10-wicket win

This news has been read 6981 times!

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates, Oct 24, (AP): Pakistan crushed archrival India by 10 wickets for their first-ever victory against its archrival in a T20 World Cup game on Sunday. Captain Babar Azam (68 not out) and Mohammad Rizwan (79 not out) struck superb unbeaten half centuries and eased Pakistan to 152-0 in 17.5 overs in Group 2 of the Super 12s. Fast bowler Shaheen Afridi (3-31) had earlier rattled India’s top order by removing both openers – Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul – in his first two overs before skipper Virat Kohli’s 57 off 49 balls took the 2007 champion to 151-7.

Babar won the toss and opted to chase. The decision paid off as Rizwan toyed with Indian bowlers as they struggled with the wet ball when dew settled in the second half of the game. It was Pakistan’s first-ever victory by 10 wickets against any opposition in a T20 while India also faced the ignominy of losing by such a margin for the first time.

Half centuries by Charith Asalanka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa rallied former T20 World Cup champions Sri Lanka to a five-wicket victory over a sloppy Bangladesh side in their bad-tempered opening Super 12 match. Asalanka made a splendid unbeaten 80 off 49 balls and Rajapaksa smashed 53 off 31 balls helping carry Sri Lanka to 172-5 with seven balls to spare.

Earlier, Bangladesh posted a challenging total of 171-4 after being put in to bat. The Bangladesh got of to a fiery start with opening batsman Liton Das getting involved in an altercation with Sri Lanka fast bowler Lahiru Kumara after the fast bowler dismissed him. Both players came face to face before being separated by Sri Lanka players as Das’ teammate Mohammad Naim also got involved, shoving Kumara. Das and Kumara exchanged heated words before the Bangladesh opener left the field. The unexpected match-up in Group 1 between the two Asian countries was made possible after Bangladesh’s unexpected loss to Scotland in the qualifiers. Sri Lanka were cruising at 71-1 when Shakib Al Hasan’s twin strikes in his first over pulled back the 2014 World Cup winner. Shakib became the T20 World Cup all-time leading wicket-taker with 41, two ahead of Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, when he clean bowled Pathum Nissanka and Avishka Fernando. The earlier on-field altercation seemed to affect Das, who dropped both Asalanka and Rajapaksa, which proved costly later when Asalanka smashed five fours and five sixes while Rajapaksa hit three fours and three sixes. In Bangladesh’s innings, Mohammad Naim (62) and Mushfiqur Rahim (57) smartly read the slow wicket at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, which was relaid last year. Mushfiqur used all his experience and played some exquisite square cuts and was not afraid to pull short deliveries to mid-wicket for his two sixes. Sri Lanka appeared to be satisfied with their start and cut short premier leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga participation short of his four overs after returning figures of 0-29 from the three he bowled. England and Australia, which won their opening games against West Indies and South Africa respectively, on Saturday are the other nations in Group 1.

This news has been read 6981 times!

Related Articles

Back to top button

Advt Blocker Detected

Kindly disable the Ad blocker

Verified by MonsterInsights