Sunday , September 24 2023

Mushfiqur helps B’desh end India Twenty20 jinx

This post has been read 8512 times!

Bangladesh win by 7 wickets

India’s Shikhar Dhawan plays a shot against Bangladesh during the first T20 cricket match at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, India on Nov 3. (AP)

NEW DELHI, Nov 3, (RTRS): Bangladesh ended their 20-overs jinx against India after Mushfiqur Rahim’s unbeaten half-century helped secure their seven-wicket victory in the first Twenty20 International on Sunday.

Their bowlers laid the platform for a memorable victory against their mighty neighbours by restricting India to 148-6 at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.

Mushfiqur, dropped in the deep on 38, made 60 not out and featured in a crucial partnership with Soumya Sarkar as Bangladesh finally humbled India in this format at the ninth attempt.

Rajkot hosts the second Twenty20 of the three-match series on Thursday.

Earlier, touring captain Mahmudullah elected to field after winning the toss ending speculation about the match being scrapped because of Delhi’s notorious smog.

Air pollution in New Delhi and surrounding towns reached the worst levels so far this year on Sunday, with authorities having already declared a public health emergency and ordered the closure of schools.

Home captain Rohit Sharma hit a couple of boundaries before falling in the first over from Shafiul Islam.

Frontline batsmen K.L. Rahul and Shreyas Iyer both looked comfortable but could not convert the starts they got.

A subdued Shikhar Dhawan (41) hit his first six in the 15th over but was run out just when his team wanted him to accelerate.

Rishabh Pant made 27 and India milked 30 runs from the last two overs but they still settled for a sub-150 total against Bangladesh’s eight-bowler attack.

Bangladesh lost Liton Das in the first over but Mohammad Naim and Soumya kept them on course with a 46-run stand.

Yuzvendra Chahal removed Naim but Soumya (39) and Mushfiqur effectively killed off the contest with their 60-run stand.

Skipper Mahmudullah pulled debutant Shivam Dube for a six to seal a memorable victory for his team.

India vs Bangladesh Scoreboard

DELHI, India, Nov 3 (RTRS): Scoreboard at close of play of 1st t20i between India and Bangladesh on Sunday


R. Sharma lbw S. Islam            9

S. Dhawan run out Mahmudullah            41

K.L. Rahul c Mahmudullah b A. Islam    15

S. Iyer c Naim b A. Islam        22

R. Pant c Naim b S. Islam        27

S. Dube c&b Afif     1

K. Pandya not out    15

W. Sundar not out    14

Extras: (3lb, 1w)      4

Total: (20 overs, 6 wkts)         148

Fall of Wickets: 1-10 (R. Sharma), 2-36 (Rahul), 3-70 (Iyer), 4-95 (Dhawan), 5-102 (Dube), 6-120 (Pant)

Did Not Bat: Chahal, Chahar, Ahmed

Bowling: S. Islam 4-0-36-2, A. Hossain 4-0-27-0, Rahman 2-0-15-0, aA. Islam 3-0-22-2, Sarkar 2-0-16-0, Afif Hossain 3-0-11-1, M. Hossain 1-0-8-0, Mahmudullah 1-0-10-0


L. Das c Rahul b Chahar          7

M. Naim c Dhawan b Chahal   26

S. Sarkar b Ahmed   39

M. Rahim not out     60

Mahmudullah not out              15

Extras: (3lb, 4w)      7

Total: (19.3 overs, 3 wkts)      154

Fall of Wickets: 1-8 (Das), 2-54 (Naim), 3-114 (Sarkar)

Did Not Bat: Afif Hossain, M. Hossain, A. Islam, S. Islam, M. Rahman, A. Hossain

Bowling: Chahar 3-0-24-1, Sundar 4-0-25-0, Ahmed 4-0-37-1, Chahal 4-0-24-1 K. Pandya 4-0-32-0, Dube 0.3-0-9-0

Match Result: Bangladesh win by 7 wickets

Umpires: C. Nandan, Nitin Menon

TV Umpire: Chettithody Shamsuddin

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle

Check Also

Kohli inspires India again; Zimbabwe ‘stun’ Pakistan

This post has been read 8513 times! SA crush Bangladesh by 104 runs India’s Virat …