EU imposes travel restrictions on six countries

This news has been read 18876 times!

BRUSSELS, Aug 30: The European Union Monday removed six countries from its safe travel list due to increase of COVID-19 cases. Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, North Macedonia and the US were removed from the EU’s updated list released today. Non-essential travel to the EU from countries or entities not listed in the list is subject to temporary travel restriction, said an EU press release.

However, individual EU countries can decide if they wish to allow visitors from the five countries on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travellers. Residents of 17 non-EU member states are now allowed for non-essential travel to the 27-member bloc following the revised list. They are: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Japan, Jordan, New Zealand, Qatar, Moldova, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea and Ukraine. China is subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

The EU safe travel will continue to be reviewed regularly and, as the case may be, updated. The criteria to determine the non-EU countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were last updated on 20 May. They cover the epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources.(KUNA)

This news has been read 18876 times!

Related Articles

Back to top button

Advt Blocker Detected

Kindly disable the Ad blocker

Verified by MonsterInsights