-- ------------- -------------- ------------------- -------------------
Tuesday , January 31 2023

Poitier to receive Bafta’s highest honor – ‘Star Wars’, ‘Revenant’ score CAS nods

This post has been read 4223 times!

Nicole Kidman arrives at the The Sixth Biennial UNICEF Ball at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons Hotel on Jan 12, in Beverly Hills, Calif. (AP)
Nicole Kidman arrives at the The Sixth Biennial UNICEF Ball at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons Hotel on Jan 12, in Beverly Hills, Calif. (AP)

LOS ANGELES, Jan 13, (RTRS): The British Academy of Film and Television Arts will bestow on Sidney Poitier its highest honor, the Fellowship, at the BAFTA Film Awards on Feb 14. The Fellowship, which is awarded annually, is given to an individual in recognition of “an outstanding and exceptional contribution to film, television or games.”

Previous recipient of the honor include Charlie Chaplin, Alfred Hitchcock, Steven Spielberg, Elizabeth Taylor, Stanley Kubrick, Anthony Hopkins, Laurence Olivier, Judi Dench and Martin Scorsese. Mike Leigh received the Fellowship at last year’s film awards.

Amanda Berry, chief executive of BAFTA, said: “Sidney is a luminary of film whose outstanding talent in front of the camera, and important work in other fields, has made him one of the most important figures of his generation. His determination to pursue his dreams is an inspirational story for young people starting out in the industry today. By recognising Sidney with the Fellowship at the film awards on Sunday 14 February, BAFTA will be honoring one of cinema’s true greats.”


Poitier said: “I am extremely honored to have been chosen to receive the Fellowship and I would like to express my deep appreciation to the British Academy for the recognition.”

Poitier began his acting career on Broadway in the 1940s before moving into film in 1950, receiving his first credit as Dr Luther Brooks in “No Way Out.” He was the first African-American to play a wide range of leading roles; he was BAFTA-nominated for his performances in “Edge of the City,” “A Raisin in the Sun,” “Lilies of the Field” (for which he was the first African-American to win the Oscar for Best Actor in 1964), “A Patch of Blue,” “In the Heat of the Night” and “The Defiant Ones,” for which he won a BAFTA and was nominated for an Oscar in 1959.

His other acting credits include “Blackboard Jungle,” “To Sir With Love,” “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner,” “Sneakers,” “The Jackal” and “Porgy and Bess.” Poitier was awarded an Honorary Oscar in 2002 “for his extraordinary performances and unique presence on the screen and for representing the industry with dignity, style and intelligence.” Poitier has also been nominated for seven Golden Globes, winning once, and was presented with the Cecil B. DeMille Award in 1982.

After being passed over by every guild and industry group so far this season, “The Hateful Eight” finally caught a break Tuesday with a nomination from the Cinema Audio Society, celebrating excellence in sound mixing. The film joined “Bridge of Spies,” “Mad Max: Fury Road” and “The Revenant” in the live action motion picture category, all three of which have performed well with organizations like the Art Directors Guild, the American Society of Cinematographers and the Producers Guild of America in recent weeks.

The fifth spot went to “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” an on-again, off-again player on the circuit this season with mentions from the American Cinema Editors and the art directors and costume designers guilds. That left Ridley Scott’s “The Martian” as the surprise exclusion for a group that, it should be noted, has a slightly different makeup than the Academy’s sound branch, featuring a wider range of production mixers along with the post-production artisans.

In the animated category, nominees were “The Good Dinosaur,” “Hotel Transylvania 2,” “Inside Out,” “Minions” and “The Peanuts Movie.”

On the television side, “American Crime” joined “American Horror Story: Hotel,” “Fargo” and “True Detective” in the movie or mini-series category, while series nominees included “Better Call Saul,” “Grame of Thrones,” “The Walking Dead,” “Nurse Jackie” and “Veep.”

Winners will be revealed at the 52nd annual Cinema Audio Society Awards on Saturday, Feb 20.

Read the full list of film and television nominees below.

* Motion Picture – Live Action

“Bridge of Spies”: Production Mixer: Drew Kunin; Re-recording Mixer: Andy Nelson, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Gary Roger Rydstrom, CAS; Scoring Mixer: Thomas Vicari, CAS; ADR Mixer: Bobby Johanson, CAS; Foley Mixer: Chris Manning.

“The Hateful Eight”: Production Mixer: Mark Ulano, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Michael Minkler, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Chris Minkler; Scoring Mixer: Fabio Venturi; Foley Mixer: Nerses Gezalyan.

“Mad Max: Fury Road”: Production Mixer: Ben Osmo; Re-recording Mixer: Chris Jenkins; Re-recording Mixer: Gregg Rudloff; ADR Mixer: Thomas J. O’Connell; Foley Mixer: Ryan Squires.

“The Revenant”: Production Mixer: Chris Duesterdiek; Re-recording Mixer: Jon Taylor, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Frank Montano; Re-recording Mixer: Randy Thom, CAS; Scoring Mixer: Conrad Hensel; ADR Mixer: Michael Miller, CAS; Foley Mixer: Geordy Sincavage.

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”: Production Mixer: Stuart Wilson; Re-recording Mixer: Andy Nelson, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Chris Scarabosio; Scoring Mixer: Shawn Murphy; ADR Mixer: Charleen Steeves; Foley Mixer: Chris Manning.

* Motion Picture — Animated

“The Good Dinosaur”: Original Dialogue Mixer: Vince Caro; Re-recording Mixer: Tom Johnson; Re-recording Mixer: Michael Semanick; Scoring Mixer: Brad Haehnel; Foley Mixer: Kyle Rochlin.

“Hotel Transylvania 2”: Original Dialogue Mixer: Howard London, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Michael Semanick; Re-recording Mixer: Tom Johnson; Scoring Mixer: Brad Haehnel; Foley Mixer: Randy Singer, CAS.

“Inside Out”Original Dialogue Mixer: Doc KaneRe-recording Mixer: Tom JohnsonRe-recording Mixer: Michael SemanickScoring Mixer: Joel IwatakiFoley Mixer: Mary Jo Lang, CAS

“Minions”: Original Dialogue Mixer: Carlos Sotolongo; Re-recording Mixer: Gary A. Rizzo, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Chris Scarabosio; Scoring Mixer: Shawn Murphy; Foley Mixer: Corey Tyler.

“The Peanuts Movie”: Original Dialogue Mixer: Bill Higley; Re-recording Mixer: Lora Hirschberg; Re-recording Mixer: Randy Thom, CAS; Re-recording Mixer: Leff Lefferts; Scoring Mixer: Casey Stone, CAS; Foley Mixer: Jason Butler.


LOS ANGELES: “Fifty Shades of Grey” is all tied up with “Pixels,” “Jupiter Ascending” and “Paul Blart Mall Cop 2” for the most nominations at this year’s Golden Raspberry Awards celebrating the worst in cinema.

The films led the Razzies lineup Wednesday with six nods each, including worst picture and worst actor for Jamie Dornan in the sexy thriller “Fifty Shades of Grey,” Kevin James in the comedy sequel “Paul Blart Mall Cop 2,” Channing Tatum in the sci-fi film “Jupiter Ascending” and Adam Sandler in the video game mash-up “Pixels” and fantasy-comedy “The Cobbler.”