------------- --------------

NLB take over FTBK leaderboard supremacy

Strikers X, Islanders and Al Qwassem outclass rivals

NBL Corporation Team

KUWAIT CITY, May 29: Through their third week winning stint over the architectural designers of DMDA Bowleros, the pump specialists of NLB Corporation took over the leader board supremacy of the ongoing 2018 FTBK Season 13 Tenpin Bowling Team Tournament elimination round being held every Friday at the Cozmo Bowling Center in Salmiya.

The third round also saw the Indian Bowing League pin busters and defending champions Lane Surferzz moving up to second and third place in the standings after subduing their respective rivals. Also emerging victorious in their third round matches were Strikers X, Al Qwassem All Stars, D’Islanders and Clash of Strikes. Going to the results of the concluded third week matches of the elimination round, the pump specialists of NLB Corporation bolstered their campaign for another stint to the championship round as they grabbed the number one position in the team standings after posting a decisive 3318-3025 victory over the architectural designers of DMDA.

In this outing, NLB bolted out of the starting gate like a runaway train as they raced to a 17-mark lead through a superb 909-742 win in the opening game of the 4-game series encounter.

With Alfred Avila, Tito Tamayo, Jane Nance and Jun Guerra in the lineup, the DMDA Bowleros narrowed down the defi cit to about nine marks through an 851-796 decision in game two. Game three then saw NLB Corporation stretching their lead once more as they blasted their rivals 789-753 before breezing to another 799-679 victory in the fi nal game of the match. Suiting up for the victorious NLB squad in this outing were Ric- Marimla, Chris Bulacja, Rudy Zablan, Chit Mariano and Adnan Mousa. Another team enjoying a good early run in this tournament organized by the Filipino Tenpin Bowlers Kuwait (FTBK) were the spicy pin busters of Indian Bowling League (IBL) who improved to second in the team standings by stopping World Class via a convincing 3146-2983 count. Coming from a week two setback, IBL looked bent on taking the winners’ seat this time as they grabbed an 811-734 in game one of the match.

Powered by Glenn Corbit who nailed down 248 pin falls, together with Lee Mills, Paul Wilson and Jason Baker, World Class chopped down the lead of IBL to just 7 pins by taking game two 796-726. But with Rani Skeik leading the assault and Nadine Dias, Fatima Sequeira, Rudolph Castellino, Joel Fernandes, Nikshita Shetty providing chipping in the rest of the required pin crushing chores, the Indian Bowling league keglers grounded World Class in the remaining two games 798-731 and 786-722. Meanwhile, Strikers X stayed well inside the elite 8 after coming back from a game one loss to beat MaD Investment LLC 3137-2958.

Headed by Mario Santos, Ricky Palabon, Dorcas Sansone, and Hussain Adnan, MaD Investment took the early initiative by clobbering their rivals in game one 765-702. Strikers X however quickly reacted with lightning speed and took over the driver’s position as they turned back MaD Investment in game two 773-714. Spearheaded by Jheng Liwayway, Vicky Navarro, John Caldwell, Benny Chan, Arnold Mendoza and Ronald Ferolino Strikers X went to win the next two games 790- 739 and 847-740.

Title holders Lane Surferzz on the other hand banked on their three straight victories in dumping Siete Pares 3109-2940. Bannered by Ali Arqoub, Colin Costa, Valentine Gonsalves and Aji Varghese, Lane Surferzz easily cleared the way for a third round win as they put the outcome of the match beyond doubt by rolling to 741-714, 794-767 and 818-661 victories in games one, two and three. Left with just an option of avoiding total annihilation, Siete Pares with Faie Reyel, Nitz Alinea, Rami Mudaf and Manny Nazaire did just that as they snatched the fi nal game via a 798-731 score. In the other encounters of the third week, D’ Islanders led Janet Shaikh, Aga Cuadrazal, Vernie Villaruel, Bobby Carambas, Danny Doctor, Bert Pantanilla, Rolly David and Edgar Pascua subdued Original Pinned Killers 3090- 2910. Clash of Strikes with Hassan Karam, Kukyoung Nam, Hyung Choi and Mahmoud Dashti also emerged victorious grounding Cozmo Salmiya in all four games of the match en-route to a 3067-2594 win.

In the only other match of the week, Al Qwassem All Stars pinned down the K2E2 Thunders 3078-2951 while Rock N Bowl who drew the bye slot submitted a total tally of 3038 pin falls. For the Individual and Team High scores the current record holders are as follows: Individual High Game Men Group 1-Glenn Corbit 248, Men Group 2-Siddharth Nair 226, Ladies- Janet Shaikh 234; High Average Men Group 1-Rani Skeik 189, Men Group 2-Rudolph Castellino 182, Ladies- Janet Shaikh 186; Team High Game- NLB Corporation 797 and Team High Series-Rock N Bowl 3197. The team standings after the second week are as follows (read as rank, team name and total score); 1. NLB Corporation-9488, 2. Indian Bowling League-9282, 3. Lane Surferzz -9208, 4. Rock N Bowl -9199, 5. K2E2 -9195, 6. Strikers X -9116, 7. Al Qwassem All Stars-9113, 8. D’ Islanders-9107, 9. MaD Investment LLC -9069, 10. DMDA Bowleros -9013, 11. World Class -8956, 12. Siete Pares -8823, 13. Original Pin Killers -8640, 14. Clash of Strikes-8547, 15. Cozmo Salmiya- 5227.


By Miguel Carlos Special to the Arab Times

Check Also

Indian team SKARZ post 1st victory as Pin Pals advance

SKARZ team UNIMONI, Eagles, Tigers, Asian Air and Falcon win KUWAIT CITY, May 15: There …

Translate »