------------- --------------

CBK win KBC trophy – Boubyan Bank fall in final

The champions CBK

KUWAIT CITY, May 3: Kuwait Cricket held the Finals for the most prestigious KBC T20 Champions Trophy sponsored by the Kuwait Banks Club at the Doha Entertainment City Ground.

KBC in collaboration with Kuwait Cricket has been sponsoring this tournament for over a decade making it a special trophy for the Banks League. Top banks in Kuwait namely, CBK, Boubyan Bank, NBK, KFH, Warba Bank, Burgan Bank, ABK, AUB, Gulf Bank and KIB were competing for the KBC T20 Trophy.

The guests of honor Nasser Al Bader, Saud Abdul Aziz Al Ali, Abu Ali from the KBC, Paul Dawood (General Manager — Operations, CBK), Talal Al Nasser (Head of sports activities at CBK), and Abdul Aziz Al Ayadi, from CBK were present to watch the grand finals as well as part of the presentation ceremony. Dignitaries from Kuwait Cricket Mahmoud Bastaki (the Chairman of Kuwait Cricket) including Sajid Ashraf (Director General for Kuwait Cricket), Rishi Jayan (Director of Seniors Cricket and IT), Harshith Vora (Director for Juniors Cricket), Robert D’souza (Director of Logistics and Facilities) and Naveen Dhananjayan (Director for Match Officials) were present for the occasion. In an exciting day of final Gulf Bank faced KFH for the plate finals. Gulf Bank elected to field on winning the toss and did well to not allow KFH batsmen to settle by picking up 3 wickets for 36 runs in 4.1 overs. Gulf Bank kept the pressure on as KFH were 65 for 5 in 8.5 overs.

Mohammad Arfat (23 runs) and Mohammad Amir (25 runs of 13 balls) ensured KFH reach a total of 151 runs in 20 overs. Gulf Bank started off brilliantly as they reached 93 runs in 12.4 overs for the loss of just 1 wicket. Vinod Nevgi scored a fine 50 and captain Mohammad Waleed scored 41 runs. Experienced KFH all rounder and Man of the Match Zahid Khan ran through the Gulf Bank middle order by picking up 4 wickets and turned the match in KFH’s favor.

Saad Khalid and Fazal Ur Rehman picked up 2 and 3 wickets respectively to wrap up Gulf Bank for 130 runs and KFH won the exciting match by 21 runs. For the KBC championship CBK played against the favorites Boubyan Bank. Boubyan won the toss and elected to bat first. Aaamir Javed looked in sublime form as he gave a great platform for Boubyan by scoring 67 runs of 32 balls and taking Boubyan total to 96 for 3 in 9.3 overs.

Imran Gafur continued the scoring responsibility too by scoring a quick 59 of 34 balls well supported by Abid Mushtaque’s 33 to post a big target of 194 runs for CBK to chase. CBK showed up when it mattered the most on the finals day as Diju Xavier and Nithin Simon fearlessly put up a smashing 110 runs partnership for the 2nd wicket. Nithin Simon exhibited some spectacular batting for his 71 off 35 balls and Man of the Finals Diju Xavier as elegant as always carried CBK over the finishing line in style with his 87 not out in just 46 balls. CBK reached the target in 18 overs. This is CBK’s first trophy as winners and a deserved one.

Check Also

Taylor claims New Zealand ODI milestone in Bangladesh sweep

Black Caps win by 88 runs In this Feb 16, 2019 file photo, New Zealand’s …

Translate »