------------- --------------
Saturday , August 24 2019

Sri Lanka drop Mendis, Silva for India Tests – Windies call up Ambris for New Zealand tour

COLOMBO, Nov 6, (Agencies): Sri Lanka have dropped batsmen Kusal Mendis and Kaushal Silva from the squad for the three-test series in India, starting next week, while fit-again all-rounder Angelo Mathews has returned from injury.

Seamer Nuwan Pradeep was also omitted from the side that beat Pakistan 2-0 in the United Arab Emirates with all-rounders Dhananjaya de Silva and Dasun Shanaka drafted into the 15-man squad for the series against the world’s top-ranked test team.

Widely regarded as Sri Lanka’s future batting mainstay in the longest format, Mendis totalled just 58 in four innings against Pakistan. Silva also had an underwhelming series and managed 67 runs in the two tests.

Former captain Mathews missed the series against Pakistan with a calf strain and will add some experience and solidity to the middle order against India, who blanked Sri Lanka 3-0 in the away series earlier this year.

Kolkata’s Eden Garden will hosts the opening match of the three-test series which will be followed by three one-day internationals and as many Twenty20 matches between the neighbours.

Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Dilruwan Perera, Lahiru Gamage, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Roshen Silva

Meanwhile, West Indies called up uncapped Sunil Ambris for their two-Test series against New Zealand in place of Kyle Hope who was dropped from the squad which defeated Zimbabwe earlier this month.

Hope had innings of 16 and 43 in the first Test win over Zimbabwe but managed just one in the laboured second Test draw in Bulawayo.

Ambris, 24, has yet to play Test cricket and has made just one appearance for the ODI side.

“Sunil has replaced Kyle Hope in the squad, and this is on the basis of his consistent performances across formats and his outstanding returns for the Windies ‘A’ Team,” said West Indies chief of selectors Courtney Browne.

West Indies will face New Zealand in Wellington from Dec 1-5 and at Hamilton from Dec 9-13.


Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach.


Check Also

Australia hold off India, even series

Australia’s Adam Zampa bowls a delivery during the fourth one day international cricket match between …

Translate »