------------- --------------

NLB continue to dominate FTBK qualifying round

IBL, DMDA and Al-Qwassem dish out impressive wins

KUWAIT CITY, Aug 28: At the penultimate week of the on-going 2018 Season 13 FTBK Tenpin Bowling Team Tournament, the NLB Corporation pump masters continue to dominate the qualifying round as they remained unmoved at the top of the standings going to the final week of the single round robin qualifying stage. Staying as strong contenders after eking out impressive 13th week wins over separate rivals were the spicy pin busters of Indian Bowling League (IBL), the architectural designers of DMDA and the power laden Al Qwassem All Stars. And with at least 4 of the 8 championship round slots still up for grabs among the 13 participating teams, the lane hostilities of this tenpin bowling competition organized by the Filipino Tenpin Bowlers Kuwait (FTBK) will surely see the contending teams going for broke this at the 16-lane Cozmo Entertainment Center in Salmiya.

Heading the list of victorious teams last week were the pace setting NLB Corporation who are now assured of a trip to the finals as they overpowered Strikers “X” in all four games of the 4-game series match en-route to a superb 3,327-2,841 total pin falls victory.  Spearheaded by the wrecking crew of Rudy Zablan, Chris Bulacja, Adnan Mousa, RicMarimla, Nasser Hajras and Nelson de Leon, the pump specialists did not their opponents a chance to get into the match and went on to sweep all four games in hand via 746-686, 909-664, 865-752 and 782-739 game scores. Bowling for the visibly out classed Strikers “X” squad were Jowie Concepcion, Norman Conde, Jr Sabado, Jheng Liwayway, Benny Chan and Ronald Ferolino.

Meanwhile, the Indian Bowling League keglers remained as strong contenders for a slot in the next round of the competition after brushing aside Rock N Bowl in the high scoring match that ended in a 3,292-3,168 in favor of IBL. In this match, the Indian Bowling League pin crushers spearheaded by Ahmad Sultan, Nikshita Shetty, Rudolph Castellino and Rani Skeik took a 10-mark lead after posting 846-801 and 782-725 victories in Games One and Two. Despite the two successive defeats, Rock N Bowl cut down the IBL lead to 4 marks as they stormed back in Game Three with a decisive 841-781 win. In the fourth and final game of the encounter, both teams traded strikes and strikes at will unleashing everything in their arsenal. After the dust of the fierce lane hostilities settled down, IBL headed Uly Meneses came out victorious 858-801. The DMDA Bowleros on the other hand rekindled their hope of advancing to the next round at the expense of D’ Islanders whom they routed 3,277-2,960. In eking out this all important win, DMDA headed by Tito Tamayo, Jun Guerra, Al Belarmino and Jane Nance blanked the opposition four games to none via 819-755, 850-723, 756-718 and 827-764 game victories. Suiting up for the beleaguered D’Islanders in this perilous stint were Rolly David, Aga Cuadrazal, Vernie Villaruel, Danny Doctor, Bobby Carambas and Edgar Pascua. Through their equally noteworthy 3241-2995 victory over MaD Investment LLC, power house Al Qwassem All Stars also bolstered their campaign to make it to the championship round. Bannered by Aziz Aslawi, Mousa Abdullah, Ibrahim Al Jadi and Farid Gabriel, the All Stars strikers virtually clinched victory when they struck down the investors in the first three games of the match 789-736, 900-718 and 795-751. In the last game of the match, MaD Investment succeeded in denying Al Qwassem a clean sweep by eking out a 790-732 victory courtesy of Siddharth Nair, Mario Santos, Ricky Palabon and Dorcas Sansone.

In the other completed matches of the week, the Cozmo Salmiya entertainment magnates towed by Ronnel Valencia, Jacky Guitang, Cris Batucan, Lee, Marlon Tumulak and Paul Arcayan looked headed for the next round as they humbled another contender K2E2 Thunders 3152-2948. Clash of Strikes meanwhile was able to hang to hold on their rightful place in the Top 8 by grounding defending champion Lane Surferzz 3,143-2,964 while in the only other match of the week World Class routed Original Pin Killers 2,970-2,160. Siete Pares who drew the week’s bye slot garnered a total score of 3,147 pin falls.

For the Individual and Team High scores the current record holders are as follows: Individual High Game Men Group 1 – Lee Mills 276, Men Group 2 – Paul Arcayan 240, Ladies – Janet Shaikh 234; High Average Men Group 1 – Ibrahim Al Jadi 192, Men Group 2 – Jowie Concepcion 183, Ladies – Hanadi Mezaiel 178; Team High Game – World Class 838 and Team High Series – Cozmo Salmiya 3,331.

The team standings after 14 weeks are as follows (read as rank, team name and total score): 1. NLB Corporation – 43,390, 2. Lane Surferzz – 42,949, 3. World Class – 42,834, 4. K2E2 Thunders – 42,816, 5. Rock N Bowl – 42,769, 6. Clash of Strikes – 42,683, 7. Cozmo Salmiya – 42,660, 8. Al Qwassem All Stars – 42,531, 9. D’ Islanders – 42,473, 10. MaD Investment LLC – 42,461, 11. Indian Bowling League – 42,428, 12. DMDA Bowleros – 42,406, 13. Strikers “X” – 42,290, 14. Siete Pares – 41,810, 15. Original Pin Killers – 35,124.

By Miguel Carlos – Special to the Arab Times



Translate »