--------- AMP -----------
Wednesday , November 21 2018

Asian Air Safari lead PBAK 30th Anniversary Cup – Mangaf Strikers, COZMO post victories

Participants of PBAK 30th Anniversary Cup.
Participants of PBAK 30th Anniversary Cup.

KUWAIT CITY, Oct 26: The pin busters of the Philippine Bowling Association in Kuwait were back in action in the PBAK 30th Anniversary Cup Team Tournament-2016 that was launched at the COZMO Bowling Center in Kheifan.

The Philippine Bowling Association in Kuwait (PBAK) led by Rudy de Lima, has more participating teams this year from 10 to 12 as presented by Myra Nicole Manalo. Six teams namely Asian Air Safari, the lucky team of Mangaf Strikers, lane masters’ COZMO team, the striking force of MD Strikers, Indonesians best-NUSANTARA and unpredictable Scavengers posted victories during the inaugural games.

The tournament kicked off with the entrance of colors by the Boy scouts from Kuwait-Philippine International English School followed by the participating bowlers from the 12 teams then the singing of the Kuwait and Philippine national anthems respectively. Lito Michael and Ahmad Fahmi led the invocation followed by the recitation of Oath of sportsmanship by Alonzo Bush. Over-all Tournament Director Hermie Saliba declared the tournament open with participating bowlers rolling off the ball.

The 12 participating teams with their members are: All Star Strikes- Fadel Al Qassem (team captain), Abdul Aziz Al Aslawi, Ibrahim Saeed Al Busaf, Ali Hikmat, Abdul Rahman Abdullah, Hanadi Mezael and Laras Nitikusumo; Asian Air Safari – Hermie Saliba (team captain), Mousa Abdullah, Waleed Al Gharib, Vernie Villaruel, Lito Michael, Gani dela Cruz, Norman Conde, Ruben Cervantes, Sonia Mathews and Rose Saliba; COZMO-  Ferdie Saliba (team captain), Noe Mahayag, Tony Zuleta, Ronell Valencia, Bader Malalah, Mohammad Karam, Faisal Al Saleem, Alex Cervantes, Neng Cervantes and Abdullah Dashti; Fiery Dragons- Mandy Manalo (team captain), Mar Evangelista, Camilo Baker lll, Eddie Pena, Joel Tizxon, Moises Amahan, Agnes Noble, Maria Perly Virly, Jeannette Angeles and Eden Evangelista; Indian Bowling League- Ulysses Menezes (team captain), Fatima Sequera, Anastasius Menezes, Nadine Diaz, Siddarth Nait, Ali Jawli, Joe Simmons, Rudolph Castelino, Jason D’Souza and Iman Pradana; LEAF- Lito Mercado (team captain), Rocky Castil, Cris Carungay, Joe Presenta, Reygan Percy, Chuck Kishpaugh, Blanca Sambajon, Marjorie Mercado, Imelda Daguio and Leila Cervantes.

MD Strikers-  Rudy de Lima (team captain), Nasser Hajras, Rani Skeik, Abdul Wahab Al Shatti, Allen Morais, Neveen Wasel, Myra Manalo and Alma Turley; Mangaf Strikers- Jason Gamba (team Captain), Medz Nicdao, Jhun Janoras, Ceddie Martin Faa, Robert Opena, Adolfo Prena and Ron Favor; NUSANTARA- Ahmad Fahmi (team captain), Tatang Razak, Tito Octavianus, Gantosori, Erlisa, Datuk Rozian, Bima Nitikusumo, Benjamin Hasan, Saleh Faraj and Abel Nitikusumo; Original Pin Killers- Christopher Bush (team captain), Farid Gabriel, Jun Husmillo, Rashid Aker Ali, Ishaaq Al Waahid, Ahmad Fadil Karam, Aris de Guzman, Jacky Guitang, Jelyn Cplegio and Norlan Balasan; Scavengers- Nasha King,  (team captain), Anthony King, Aji Varghese, Ali Ashkanani, Ali Arqoub, Mohammad Yousef, Mohammad Othman and Basma Ahmar and Swooping Eagles- Alonzo Bush (team captain), Glen Corbit, Danny Solis, John Caldwell, Darrel Sullivan, Riz Roque, Jessica Balagat, Angie Bush, Jocelyn Borros and Mona Corpuz.

Competing teams are playing with handicapping system and after the12 game elimination round, the top eight teams will be playing for a two-week round robin. The tourney also features the singles’ event for the ladies and men’s categories. Special awards will be presented to teams and bowlers with high averages and high scores. After the first round play, Asian Air Safari bagged the Team of the Week (2931); Team High Game Scratch (955) and Team High Series (2859).

Here’s the tally of the opening day:

(Read as Category, Name, Individual High Game)

Men’s A  – Mousa Abdullah 234; Men’s B  – Joe Presenta 198; Men’s C  Jason Gamba 221; Ladies A – Sonia Mathews 201; Ladies B – Abel Nitikusumo 169; Team High Game (Scratch); Asian Air Safari – 955; Men’s A – Mousa Abdullah 200.33; Mens’s B – Saleh Faraj 180.33; Men’s C – Jason Gamba 173.00; Ladies A – Myra Manalo 172.66; Ladies B – Abel Nitikusumo 144.50; Team High Series (Scratch); Asian Air Safri – 2859.

Weekly High Series:

  1. Asian Air Safari – 2931

First round results: 1. Asian Air Safari (3006); 2. Mangaf Strikers (2926); 3. COZMO (2908); 4. NUSANTARA (2891); 5. MD Strikers (2872); 6. All Star Strikers (2845); 7. Fiery Dragons (2823); 8. Scavengers (2819); 9. Original Pin Killers (2742); 10. Swooping Eagles (2721); 11. LEAF (2682) and 12. Indian Bowling League (2546).

PBAK commended and thanked McDonalds for serving 250 meals for the snacks of the guests plus balloon arrangement and for making the event a success. PBAK also thanked the Philippine International English School Fahaheel for allowing its Boy Scouts to grace the opening programme. Saliba presented a plaque of appreciation to the COZMO management for its invaluable support to PBAK.

By Michelle Fe Santiago

Arab Times Staff


Check Also

Al Qwassem All Stars overpower NLB to grab FTBK tourney lead

Clash of Strikes brush aside K2E2 Thunders KUWAIT CITY, June 6: Living up to their …

Translate »