Add News     Print  
Article List
AVC clinch ‘The Times’ Cup Trophy Indian Strikers trounced in finals

KUWAIT CITY, April 2: AVC emerged champions of the premiere edition of “The Times” Cup Trophy 7-aside football tournament trouncing Indian Strikers in the finals by two goals to nil. The tournament organized Santos United and sponsored by The Times was held at the MOH Grounds under the auspices of Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF). A total of 17 clubs (19 teams participated) took part in this tournament. Indian Football Referees Association (IFRA) professionally did a marvelous officiating task and it complimented to the young, enthusiastic teamwork put in by the Santos United lads in the successful organization of the tournament. Speaking at the prize distribution ceremony, the chief guest, Raymond D’Sa, President of GOA Maroons congratulated the winners and runners-up and applauded the tournament organizers and the participating teams.

The matches were played with great gusto and sporting spirit, discipline which are the hallmarks of the tournament, Raymond D’Sa added. The event’s comperes, Julio Cardozo, Kevin Vaz and Bernard Fernandes kept the spectators entertained and informed on the turn of events during the tournament, with Ferns Caterers providing snacks, tea and coffee. Reaven D’Souza, The Times, Media Response & Events Co, Bhasin Co, Ms Carol Chapman, Dana Optics, KIFF President Fidelis Fernandes and KIFF Managing Committee, IFRA officials, Goan Cultural Centre, the English print and e-portals were all thanked by the organizers for the support and generous gifts.

During the break in-between the matches, spectators were treated to refreshments, a game of housie and the hamper picks for which fabulous prizes including electronic and electrical gadgets were won. Winners and runners-up were given glittering trophies apart from gifts for winners, runners-up and referees.

Glittering mementos were presented to the individuals: James Figueira of Goa Maroons being the oldest player of the tournament and Joaquim Rodrigues of Santos United for his dedicated services. The best disciplined team trophy was accorded to Real Betalbatim SC, Indian Strikers’ Dixon Benedict and Anthony Vincent claimed the Best Defender and Best midfield player awards. AVC’s Savio Fernandes and Blesson D’Souza were presented the Man of the final match award and Best Goalkeeper award respectively. However, AVC’s Anthony Rodrigues took two individual awards, namely as the Best Striker, and also the First Goal scorer of the finals. Mussolini Gomes, Carol Chapman, Liby Fernandes, Pascoal Alphonso, Glen D’souza, and Fidelis Fernandes and Raymond D’Sa were called on the dias to hand over the prizes to all the winners of the day’s event. 

Santos United’s president, Carmo Santos, on behalf of the organizers and his team members thanked and appreciated the sponsorship and support for organizing the tournament of Reaven D’Souza, The Times, Media Response & Events Co, Bhasin Co, Ms Carol Chapman, Dana Optics, KIFF and IFRA officials, Goan Cultural Centre, the English print and e-portals, and Gaspar Almeida, among other Indian dignitaries.  Santos United looks forward to make this tournament an yearly affair under the auspices of KIFF.

Read By: 1459
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us