Add News     Print  
Article List
Indian players celebrate after winning the match against Australia during the ICC World T20 cricket tournament at The Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, on March 30. (AFP)
India pile up misery on Australia Yuvraj, Ashwin star in big win

DHAKA, March 30, (AFP): Yuvraj Singh roared back to form with a pugnacious half-century and Ravichandran Ashwin grabbed 4-11 as India hammered listless Australia by 73 runs in the World Twenty20 in Dhaka on Sunday. Yuvraj hit 60 off 43 balls to steer India to 159-7 after they were sent in to bat, before Australia collapsed in spectacular fashion to be bowled out for a paltry 86 in 16.2 overs. India, who had already qualified for the semi-finals, topped group two of the Super-10s with four successive wins. They will meet the number two team from the other group next Friday for a place in the final. It was Australia’s third loss in a row, leaving them at the bottom of the table along with Bangladesh.

Pakistan, who beat Bangladesh by 50 runs earlier on Sunday, will clash with the West Indies on Tuesday to decide the second semi-finalist from the group. South Africa have made it to the knock-out round from group one, while Sri Lanka will face New Zealand in Chittagong on Monday to determine the other semi-finalist. Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said he was not surprised at the ease with which Yuvraj batted after a poor run earlier in the tournament.

“We all know what kind of a player Yuvi is and this T20 format is ideal for someone to get back into form,” Dhoni said. “He gave himself time to get set at the start and then he opened out. “There was no dew at all which helped the bowlers grip the ball well. It was a really good effort in the field. We now need a good rest before the semi-final.” India, whose previous three wins came while batting second, were given first strike by Australian captain George Bailey and found themselves in immediate trouble. India’s top order faltered after opener Rohit Sharma fell to part-timer Brad Hodge off the fourth ball of the innings and slipped to 66-4 by the 12th over.
Left-handed Yuvraj, who made one and 10 in the two innings he got to bat in the tournament, launched a spectacular counter-attack that included five boundaries and four sixes. Dhoni made 24 during a fifth-wicket stand of 84 off 42 balls with Yuvraj before he was bowled by Mitchell Starc in the penultimate over.
Australia’s batting caved in under lights at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium with Glenn Maxwell emerging the top scorer with 23. Eight batsmen failed to reach double figures against the steady Indian spin attack in which leg-spinner Amit Mishra supported Ashwin with two wickets for 13 runs. Bailey said he was disappointed at the way this tournament was going for his Australian team. “I don’t think we have been fans of the way we have been playing,” he said. “There was a lack of game sense on a number of occasions. I just hope we can play well against the hosts on Tuesday.”
Australia vs India Scoreboard/Standings
DHAKA, March 30, (AFP): Scoreboard from the World Twenty20 Super-10 group two match between Australia and India in Dhaka on Sunday:
R. Sharma c Muirhead b Hodge 5
A. Rahane c Haddin b Bollinger 19
V. Kohli c White b Muirhead 23
Y. Singh c Maxwell b Watson 60
S. Raina c Finch b Maxwell 6
M. Dhoni b Starc 24
R. Jadeja run out 3
R. Ashwin not out 2
B. Kumar not out 0
Extras: (lb6, w10, nb1) 17
Total (for seven 
wickets, 20 overs) 159
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Sharma), 2-46 (Kohli), 3-53 (Rahane), 4-66 (Raina), 5-150 (Dhoni), 6-152 (Yuvraj), 7-158 (Jadeja).
Bowling: Hodge 2-0-13-1 (w2), Maxwell 4-0-20-1 (w1), Starc 4-0-36-1 (w4), Watson 4-0-36-1 (w3, nb1), Bollinger 4-0-24-1, Muirhead 2-0-24-1
A. Finch c Kohli b Ashwin 6
D. Warner c R. Sharma b Ashwin 19
C. White c Jadeja b Kumar 0
S. Watson b M. Sharma 1
G. Maxwell b Ashwin 23
G. Bailey c Kohli b Jadeja 8
B. Hodge c Jadeja b Mishra 13
B. Haddin c Rahane b Mishra 6
M. Starc run out 2
J. Muirhead c Dhoni b Ashwin 3
D. Bollinger not out 1
Extras: (lb3, w1) 4
Total (all out, 16.2 overs) 86
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Finch), 2-19 (White), 3-21 (Watson), 4-44 (Warner), 5-55 (Maxwell), 6-63 (Bailey), 7-75 (Haddin), 8-79 (Starc), 9-83 (Hodge), 10-86 (Muirhead)
Bowling: Kumar 3-0-7-1, M. Sharma 2-0-11-1, Ashwin 3.2-0-11-4 (w1), Raina 1-0-16-0, Jadeja 4-0-25-1, Mishra 3-0-13-2
India won by 73 runs
Toss: Australia
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Marais Erasmus (RSA)
TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)
Group 1
                P W L T N/R Pts RR
South Africa 4 3 1 0 0 6 +0.075
Sri Lanka 3 2 1 0 0 4 +2.199
NewZealand 3 2 1 0 0 4 +0.362
England  3 1 2 0 0 2 -0.102
Netherlands 3 0 3 0 0 0 -2.176
Group 2
                P W L T N/R Pts RR
India         4 4 0 0 0 8 +1.280
West Indies 3 2 1 0 0 4 +1.223
Pakistan 3 2 1 0 0 4 +0.893
Australia 3 0 3 0 0 0 -1.549
Bangladesh 3 0 3 0 0 0 -2.315
Note 1: Top two teams in each group qualify for semi-finals.
Note 2: Standings read as played, won, lost, tied, N/R, points & run-rate.

Read By: 3230
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us