Add News     Print  
Article List
‘Gravity’ wins top ASC award ‘Frozen’ named top animated film

LOS ANGELES, Feb 4, (RTRS): “Gravity” cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki won his third American Society of Cinematographers Award on Saturday night, picking up the top feature-film prize from the ASC for a film that is also expected to bring the acclaimed cinematographer his first Oscar. Honoring his high-tech accomplishment in working with director Alfonso Cuaron to create and photograph the film’s near-space environment, Lubezki won against an unprecedented field in the ASC’s top film category.
Because of a three-way tie for fifth place, the ASC had seven nominees in the category, more than ever before, with Oscar nominees “Gravity,” “The Grandmaster,” “Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Nebraska” and “Prisoners” joined by “Captain Phillips” and “12 Years a Slave.” Films winning the ASC Award have gone on to win the Oscar slightly less than half the time in the awards’ 26-year history, including four times in the last 10 years. “Gravity” is considered the odds-on favorite at the Oscars; if he wins, it would be Lubezki’s first Academy Award in six nominations. He previously won ASC Awards for “Children of Men” and “The Tree of Life.”

The Spotlight Award, a new ASC honor designed for independent films without major distribution, went to Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski for “Ida.” In the television categories, Jonathan Freeman won for the “Game of Thrones” episode “Valar Dohaeris” in the one-hour series category, while Blake McClure won for the half-hour series “Drunk Detroit.” Jeremy Benning won the miniseries award for “Killing Lincoln.” Honorary awards went to Dean Cundey (“Halloween,” “Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” Apollo 13”), who received the ASC’s Lifetime Achievement Award; Eduardo Serra (“The Wings of the Dove,” “Girl With the Pearl Earring”), who received the International Achievement Award; and Richard Rawlings, Jr (“Charlie’s Angels,” “LA Law,” “Paradise”), who received the Career Achievement in Television Award.
Writer-director John Wells (“August: Osage County,” “ER,” “The West Wing”), was given the ASC 2014 Board of Governors Award.

The American Society of Cinematographers is not a guild or union, but an invitation-only professional organization of about 350 top cinematographers.
The ceremony took place in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center.

The winners:
* Theatrical Motion Picture: Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC for “Gravity”
* Spotlight Award: Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski for “Ida”
* One-hour Episodic Television Series: Jonathan Freeman, ASC for HBO’s “Game of Thrones” (“Valar Dohaeris”)
* Half-hour Episodic Series: Blake McClure for Comedy Central’s “Drunk History” (“Detroit”)
* Television Movie/Miniseries: Jeremy Benning, CSC for National Geographic Channel’s “Killing Lincoln”

“Frozen” was named the Best Animated Feature of 2013 at the Annie Awards, the top awards show devoted strictly to animation.
The film won in a field of seven nominees that included all five Oscar nominees in the Best Animated Feature category, and also took awards for directors Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee, voice actor Josh Gad and its production design and music.
As usual in the aftermath of an overhaul of the voting process three years ago, Annies voters from the International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood spread the wealth. In addition to Disney’s “Frozen,” other films winning multiple awards included DreamWorks Animation’s “The Croods” (animated effects, character design and character animation) and Pixar’s “Monsters University” (storyboarding and editorial). Studio Ghibli’s “The Wind Rises” won for Hayao Miyazaki’s screenplay.
The films “Pacific Rim” and “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” won for animated effects in live-action films.

“Futurama” won the award for top general-audience TV show, while “Disney Sofia the First” and “Adventure Time” won for pre-school and children’s audiences.
Other TV productions taking home multiple awards included “Toy Story OF TERROR!,” with three awards including director, and “Disney Mickey Mouse,” which also won three.
The Oscar-nominated Mickey Mouse short “Get a Horse!” won the award for short film, while “The Last of Us” was named the year’s best video game a couple of hours after it won a similar award from the Writers Guild.
Overall, the night was a very good one for Disney: The studio won 11 awards between Walt Disney Animation Studios and Disney Television Animation, while the Disney-owned Pixar won another five. DreamWorks Animation won three, while 20th Century Fox Television and the Cartoon Network each won two.
Honorary awards were presented to Steven Spielberg, Katsuhiro Otomo and Phil Tippett.
The ceremony took place at Royce Hall on the UCLA campus.

The winners:
Production categories
n Best Animated Feature: “Frozen” — Walt Disney Animation Studios
n Best Animated Special Production: “Chipotle Scarecrow” — Moonbot Studios
n Best Animated Short Subject: “Get A Horse!” — Walt Disney Animation Studios
n Best Animated TV/Broadcast Commercial: “Despicable Me 2 — Cinemark — Universal Pictures
n Best General Audience Animated TV/Broadcast Production For Preschool Children: “Disney Sofia the First” — Disney Television Animation
n Best Animated TV/Broadcast Production For Children’s Audience: “Adventure Time” — Cartoon Network Studios
n Best General Audience Animated TV/Broadcast Production: “Futurama”  — 20th Century Fox Television
n Best Animated Video Game: “The Last of Us” — Naughty Dog
n Best Student Film: “Wedding Cake” — Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg

Read By: 1045
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us