Add News     Print  
Article List
GulfRun 9 race winners awarded Al-Fahad, Al-Abdullah, Haidar win Circuit category

KUWAIT CITY, Feb 3: GulfRun hosted a ceremony to award the winners of the GulfRun 9 race that took place at the Bahrain International Circuit on Jan 23rd and 24th, 2014. At the ceremony held on Feb 2nd, GulfRun trophies were presented to the winners in the presence of the title sponsor Wataniya Telecom in addition to other GulfRun sponsors.  Ahmed Al Mudhaf, GulfRun Co-Founder said: “GulfRun 9 was an exceptional race due to the returning drivers being a lot more experienced and skilled than in previous years, plus several exquisite new cars joined this year, and impressive new racers.” Al Mudhaf also added, “We have ensured that all participating drivers experienced the thrills of speeding while being in a safe and secure environment with the help of qualified trainers and instructors from the Bahrain International Circuit.”

The top three participants of each car class Street, Super and Unlimited were awarded with the GulfRun trophy as they achieved the best lap times in the different competitions (Quartermile, Circuit Champion and Autocross). Ahmed Al-Fahad, Ebrahim Al Abdullah and Sami Haidar, succeeded in reaching first place in the Circuit Champion Category whilst Fahad Al Shammari, Manaf Al Otaibi and Nawaf Salman drove their cars to the limit and ranked first in the Quartermile category.

Moreover, AnasKanawati, with his Mitsubishi EVO was declared winner of the Autocross category.
Furthermore, Al Mudhaf also stated”We are looking forward to celebrating GulfRun’s 10th year next year which would not have been possible without the support of our sponsors and we would like to extend our gratitude towards Kuwait’s private sector, which acknowledges the important role sports plays amongst Kuwait’s youth.” Title Sponsor is Wataniya Telecom; Platinum Sponsors are Algida, Transcrate, Jashanmal, Hydrotek Engineering Co, and Arabian Construction Co. Gold Sponsors are Slider Station, Al Sawan Co, Bayan Dental, Seven Friday and Moto Care. Supporting sponsors are Sirbb Circuit and 360 Mall. Dealer Sponsors are Fouad Alghanim & Sons Automotive Co, and Abdul Rahman Bisher & Zaid Alkazemi.

Final Race Standing:
Circuit Champion
Street Class
1. Ahmad Fahed Al Fahad,  Mercedes C63 Black series, 30 points; 2. Bader Al Sarraf, BMW M3, 17points; 3. Azzam Al Otaibi, Caterham, 16 points.
Super Class
1. Ebraheem Al Abdulla, Porsche GT3RS,      30 points; 2. Munther Al Wagayan, Porsche GT3RS, 16 points, 3. Azzam Al Otaibi, Caterham, 14 points.
Unlimited Class
1. Sami Haidar, Chevrolet Z06, 30 points; 2. Ahmed Al Kandari, Mitsubishi Evo,  24 points; 3. Tamer Al Shawa, Nissan GTR, 17 points.

Quarter mile
Street Class
1. Fahad Al Shammari – BMW M5
2. Mahmoud Al Ghanim – Audi RS6
3. Ahmad Al Sabah – Audi S7
Super Class
1. Manaf Al Otaibi – Audi R8-V10
2 Zaid Al Sager – Audi R8 V10
3. Hussain Thiyab – Mitsubishi Evo
Unlimited Class
1. Nawaf Salman – Porsche 997 turbo
2. Tamer Al Shawa – Nissan GTr
3. Bader Al Rayes – Porsche turbo
1. AnasKanawati – Mitsubishi Evo
2. Mohammed Al Awadhi – Honda S200
3. Hussain Thiyab – MistubishiEvo

Read By: 1121
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us