Add News     Print  
Article List
‘Hustle’, ‘Phillips’ top Eddie noms ‘Breaking Bad’ dominates TV nominations

LOS ANGELES, Jan 11, (RTRS): “American Hustle,” “Captain Phillips” and “12 Years a Slave” continued to lead in nominations from the Hollywood guilds and professional organizations, with those three films picking up nominations on Friday for the American Cinema Editors’ Eddie Awards, also known as the ACE/Eddies. “Captain Phillips” and “12 Years a Slave” were nominated in the Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic) category, along with “Gravity,” “Her” and “Saving Mr Banks.” “American Hustle” will compete for Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical) with “August: Osage County,” “Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Nebraska” and “The Wolf of Wall Street.” The 10 nominated films make up a solid list of the top contenders for the film-editing Oscar nominations, with only a handful of others films (“Rush” and “All Is Lost” among them) in serious competition for the five Oscar slots.

“Frozen,” “Despicable Me 2” and “Monsters University” were nominated in the Best Edited Animated Feature Film category, while the documentary-editing nominees were “20 Feet From Stardom,” “Blackfish” and “Tim’s Vermeer.” On the television side, “Breaking Bad” dominated the Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial TV category, grabbing four of the five nominations. “The Good Wife” had the fifth. “30 Rock,” “Arrested Development” and “The Office” were nominated in the half-hour series category, while “Game of Thrones,” “Homeland” and “House of Cards” were singled out in the one-hour non-commercial category. “American Horror Story: Asylum,” “Behind the Candelabra” and “Phil Spector” make up the field in the movie-or-miniseries category.

One of the film nominees, Roderick Jaynes for “Inside Llewyn Davis,” is a pseudonym for the film’s directors, Joel and Ethan Coen. And one of the TV nominees, Mary Ann Bernard for “Behind the Candelabra,” is a pseudonym for that film’s director, Steven Soderbergh. The ACE/Eddie awards were established in 1962 and have a strong record in predicting Oscar nominees and winners. Since 2000, more than 80 percent of the Oscar nominees for film editing have first received Eddie nominations, with all but two of the 14 winners taking home the ACE/Eddie before the Oscar. Most years, the Oscar nominees are drawn almost exclusively from the Eddies’ Drama category. “American Hustle,” “Captain Phillips” and “12 Years a Slave” have now been nominated by seven of the eight main guilds or professional organizations to announce nominations: American Cinema Editors, American Society of Cinematographers, Art Directors Guild, Costume Designers Guild, Directors Guild of America, Producers Guild of America, Screen Actors Guild and Writers Guild of America. “Hustle” and “Phillips” are the two films to go a perfect 4-for-4 with the Directors, Producers, Screen Actors and Writers Guilds. (“12 Years a Slave” wasn’t eligible for the WGA Award.) “Gravity” and “Nebraska” have been nominated by six of the eight. The winners will be revealed at the ACE/Eddies ceremony on Feb 7 at the Beverly Hilton.

The nominees:
Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic): “12 Years a Slave,” Joe Walker “Captain Phillips,” Chris Rouse, A.C.E. “Gravity,” Alfonso Cuaron & Mark Sanger “Her,” Eric Zumbrunnen, A.C.E. & Jeff Buchanan “Saving Mr. Banks,” Mark Livolsi, A.C.E.
Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical): “American Hustle,” Jay Cassidy, A.C.E., Crispin Struthers & Alan Baumgarten, A.C.E. “August: Osage County,” Stephen Mirrione, A.C.E. “Inside Llewyn Davis,” Roderick Jaynes “Nebraska,” Kevin Tent, A.C.E. “The Wolf of Wall Street,” Thelma Schoonmaker, A.C.E.
Best Edited Animated Feature Film: “Despicable Me 2,” Gregory Perler, A.C.E. “Frozen,” Jeff Draheim “Monsters University,” Greg Snyder
Best Edited Documentary (Feature): “20 Feet from Stardom,” Douglas Blush, Kevin Klauber & Jason Zeldes “Blackfish,” Eli Despres “Tim’s Vermeer,” Patrick Sheffield
Best Edited Documentary (Television): “American Masters: Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train a Comin’,” Stephen Ellis, Gordon Mason & Phil McDonald “American Winter,” Aaron I. Butler “The Assassination of President Kennedy,” Chris A. Peterson
Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television: “30 Rock”: “Hogcock! / Last Lunch,” Meg Reticker/Ken Eluto, A.C.E. “Arrested Development”: “Flight of the Phoenix,” Kabir Akhtar & A.J. Dickerson “The Office”: “Finale,” David Rogers & Claire Scanlon
Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television: “Breaking Bad”: “Buried,” Skip MacDonald A.C.E. & Sharidan Williams-Sotelo “Breaking Bad”: “Felina,” Skip MacDonald A.C.E. “Breaking Bad”: “Granite State,” Kelley Dixon, A.C.E. & Chris McCaleb “Breaking Bad”: “Ozymandias,” Skip MacDonald A.C.E. “The Good Wife”: “Hitting the Fan,” Scott Vickrey, A.C.E.
Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television: “Game of Thrones”: “The Rains of Castamere,” Oral Norrie Ottey “Homeland”: “Big Man in Tehran,” Terry Kelley, A.C.E. “House of Cards”: “Chapter 1,” Kirk Baxter, A.C.E.
Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television: “American Horror Story: Asylum”: “The Name Game,” Stewart Schill, A.C.E. “Behind the Candelabra,” Mary Ann Bernard “Phil Spector,” Barbara Tulliver, A.C.E.
Best Edited Non-Scripted Series: “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown”: Tokyo, Nick Brigden “Beyond Scared Straight”: “The Return of Hustle Man,” Rob Goubeaux, A.C.E., Mark S. Andrew, A.C.E., Paul J. Coyne, A.C.E., Jennifer Nelson, Martin Skibosh, Trevor Campbell “Deadliest Catch”: “Mutiny on the Bering Sea,” Josh Earl, A.C.E. Alex Durham, Rob Butler.

Read By: 874
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us