Add News     Print  
Article List
Oscar Isaac in a scene from ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ which swept the National Society of Film Critics top prizes winning awards for picture, director and actor and cinematography. (AP)
‘Llewyn Davis’ rules Film Critics awards Blanchett named best actress

NEW YORK, Jan 7, (RTRS): The National Society of Film Critics traveled back to the 1960s on Saturday, naming “Inside Llewyn Davis” the best film of the year, while also handing out awards for its direction, cinematography and the lead performance of Oscar Issac. It’s a shot in the arm for the Coen Brothers and their look at the Greenwich Village folk scene after a week that saw the CBS Films drama passed over by both the Producers Guild and the Writers Guild of America. The film is a darkly humorous depiction of a destitute and emotionally crippled performer (Issac) - it’s acidic stuff that isn’t for all tastes, although critics have largely embraced the picture. In other categories, the National Society of Film Critics named Cate Blanchett as its Best Actress for her work as a mentally disturbed trophy wife in “Blue Jasmine.” Supporting honors were handed out to James Franco for his performance as a drug and firearms dealer in “Spring Breakers” and to Jennifer Lawrence for channeling a bored New Jersey housewife in “American Hustle.” Other films honored include “Before Midnight” for its screenplay and the controversial, sexually charged “Blue Is the Warmest Color” as the year’s best foreign-language film.

List of Winners and Runners-Up:
Picture: “Inside Llewyn Davis” Runners-up: “American Hustle”; “12 Years a Slave”; “Her” Director: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” Runners-up: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity”; Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”
Actor: Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis” Runners-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”; Robert Redford, “All Is Lost”
Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” Runners-up: Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is the Warmest Color”; Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight”
Supporting actor: James Franco, “Spring Breakers” Runners-up: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”; Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips”
Supporting actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle” Runners-up: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”; Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine”; Lea Seydoux, “Blue Is the Warmest Color”
Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” Runners-up: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis”; Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, “American Hustle”
Foreign-language film: “Blue Is the Warmest Color” Runners-up: “A Touch of Sin”; “The Great Beauty”
Non-fiction: “The Act of Killing” and “At Berkeley” Runner-up: “Leviathan”
Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel, “Inside Llewyn Davis” Runners-up: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity”; Phedon Papamichael, “Nebraska”Variety

Read By: 717
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us