Add News     Print  
Article List
Al-Mudhaf leads Kuwait in Gulf 12-hr endurance race Driver to race McLaren 12C GT3

ABU DHABI, Dec 11: Kuwait’s most prominent racing driver, Khaled Al Mudhaf will again make history as the first and only Kuwaiti to represent his country during the prestigious Gulf 12hr Endurance race at Yas Marina’s acclaimed Formula 1 circuit. Khaled will team up with Mohammed Al Jawa from Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Jordon Grogor. Racing with the historical number 001 license, Khaled is the first ever racing driver in Kuwait to be issued a professional circuit race licence, as a pioneer for his sport, he now leads the path in International motorsport events for his country and supports his fellow nationals, writing history as he goes on this superfast Global journey.

Khaled remains the only Kuwait national to race on three continents, so far taking in North America, Europe and Asia as he proudly fly’s the national flag of Kuwait wherever he competes. Khaled is also the first Middle East driver to race a prototype car at LMP2 level recently in the European Le Mans series earlier this year.
Joining the Dubai based International Dragon Racing squad, Khaled is faced with a change to the original plan, and now races the McLaren 12C GT3 car, instead of the Ferrari GT3.

“Due to circumstances beyond our control, the team asked me to race the McLaren 12C GT3 instead of the planned Ferrari for this endurance race, and I’m actually really impressed with the McLaren. It’s a bit of a challenge and needs a different approach to what I’m used to but I have had three days of intensive testing with the team over the past week and we all are feeling confident, we’re racing on familiar territory which helps as we know the Yas circuit very well,” commented Khaled ahead of the opening practice for the Gulf 12hr.

The Abu Dhabi Gulf 12hr endurance race starts on Thursday 12th with qualifying and is contested over a two part race format, with a grid of 60 cars, giving teams two separate races of six hours. The first starts at 9:30 am on Friday 13th and finishes at 15:30 pm, culminating in the final, night-time race, which starts at 17:45 pm and finishes at 23:45 pm.

Only four teams will take part in next week’s Pirelli Formula One tyre test in Bahrain after McLaren and Force India said on Wednesday they would not be attending. “The timescale was just too tight to make it, unfortunately,” said a Force India spokesman. McLaren, 50 percent owned by Bahrain’s sovereign wealth fund Mumtalakat, confirmed separately that they were not going either. A Pirelli spokeswoman said Ferrari, Mercedes, champions Red Bull and sister team Toro Rosso would attend the Dec. 17-19 session at the Sakhir circuit to test the Italian supplier’s 2014 tyres.

The governing FIA had announced on Monday that all six teams had accepted an invitation to test. Pirelli had sought special permission to test to get as much feedback as possible on their planned 2014 tyres after having to revise their 2013 ones following a spate of blowouts at the British Grand Prix in June. The first regular pre-season test with all the teams will be in Jerez, Spain, at the end of January.

Read By: 1041
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us