Group 1 finalists
Fahad brushes aside Yaqoub to clinch title Janet reigns supreme in Group 2 finals

KUWAIT CITY, Jan 30: At the just concluded Cozmo 2013 No Tap Tenpin Bowling Tournament held at the Cozmo Bowling Center in Khaifan, Fahad Ragheeb clinched the coveted title as he brushed aside the equally talented Yaqoub Al Shatti in the final game of the 8-game series Group  1 championship round. Meanwhile, lady kegler Janet Shaikh reigned supreme in Group 2 by dishing out a sterling performance in the closing games of the finals.

After the qualifying round, the Top 20 bowlers from each group advanced to the final round where the Top 5 based on their 8-game total scores were declared as winners. In Group 1 the finalists were Waleed Al Ghareeb, Romey Fermil, Al Bautista, Ali Mulla, Bill Stiles, Cris Bulacja, Tareq Al Hajri, Fahad Abul, Ibrahim Dubayan, Mehrdad Tabibzadeh, Fahad Ragheeb, Yaqoub Al Shatti, Mousa Abdullah, Ronnel Valencia, Ayad Al Amiri, Joe White, Mike Garcia and Tony Zuleta. At the onset of the finals, Romy Fermil grabbed the early lead as he rolled the first perfect 300 game of the championship with Tony Zuleta with 298 a close second after barely missing his own perfect game by just 2 pins. In the next game, Ronnel Valencia (534) who started his campaign with a 234 barged into the lead as he scorched the lanes with his 300 score in game 2 followed by Ayad Al Amiri-521, Fahad Ragheeb-508, Mike Garcia-494, Rommel Genciana-493 and Waleed Ghareeb-490.

Going to the next 2-game block, Fahad Ragheeb took over the top position by carding a 4-game series score of 1050 pin falls through his 255 and 287 output in games 3 and 4. Yaqoub Al Shatti on the other hand moved into contention as his 257 and 280 increased his markers to 1020 pin falls. Joining the two pace setters at the halfway mark were Ronnel Valencia-964, Joe White-962, Mike Garcia-947 and Rommel Genciana with 945. Fahad Ragheeb (1581) remained at the helm of the field after booking 247 and 284 in the next two games. Yaqoub Al Shatti (1543) also maintained his post by submitting 265 and 258 scores in game 5 and 6 while still in contention with just 2 games left to bowl where Ronnel Valencia-1452, Mike Garcia-1442, Joe White-1196, Mousa Abdullah-1426 and Ayad Al Amiri-1417. In the penultimate game, Yaqoub Al Shatti (1817) managed to wrest the lead when he outscored Fahad Ragheeb (1807) 274-226. Yaqoub’s stay at the top proved short lived as Fahad Ragheeb came back strong in the deciding game rolling 12 strikes in a row for a perfect 300 score and a title winning total 8-game series score of 2107 pin falls. Yaqoub Al Shatti crossed the wire in second with 2074 pin falls followed by the rest of winners namely Mousa Abdullah-2001, Ronnel Valencia-1931 and Ayad Al Amiri-1916.

Moving to the Group 2 side where the combined Men Class B and Ladies field vied for the prizes at stake, the finalists included Mina Andaya, Jackie Guitang, Rocky Castil, Mohammed Khalid, Mandy Manalo, Hermie Saliba, Joe Simmons, Bert Pantanilla, Rudy de Lima, Pilar Villanueva, Sonia Mathews, Janet Shaikh, Elvie Sotio, Jhun Hosmillo, Jess Tolentino, Liza Catapia, Rey Ualat, Nasha King, Rod Llait and Jane Nance. An impressive opening 2 games (242, 284) tally of 526 pin falls handed Elvie Sotio the lead and joining her in the lead pack were Jess Tolentino-507, Janet Shaikh-482, Nasha King-457, Liza catapia-446, Jhun Hosmillo-427 and Mina Andaya-423. Midway the championship series, Elvie Sotio bowled a 256 and 245 and retained the yellow jersey by carding a 4-game series score of 1027. At this stage Janet Shaikh with 981 moved up to second place followed by Jess Tolentino-922, Rey Ualat-886, Jhun Hosmillo-880 and Liza Catapia-869.

In game 5 and 6, Janet Shaikh (1456) stormed into the lead courtesy of a timely 276 in game 6 while Elvie Sotio (1383) slipped to second place after two consecutive low games followed by the rest of the contenders headed by Jess Tolentino-1363, Jun Hosmillo-1355, Liza Catapia-1351, Rey Ualat-1320 and Nasha King-1293. In the pivotal penultimate game 7, Janet Shaikh continued to set the pace with 1679 pin falls and easily bagged the title by closing out with a final game of 221 and a total 8-game series score of 1900 pin falls. Elvie Sotio came back strong in game 8 to salvage second place with 1824 pin falls and completing the Top 5 were Jhun Hosmillo-1803, Jess Tolentino-1785 and Liza Catapia-1761.

By: Miguel Carlos

Read By: 1731
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us