Winning team AECK with the cup
AECK retain cup with thrilling win over TEC Ramachandran Memorial Cricket

KUWAIT CITY, Nov 27: Defending champions AECK beat last year’s opponents TEC to retain the cup in a closely fought finals of the 15th Prof Ramachandran Memorial Cricket organized by CETAA and sponsored by M’s GTE — Olayan Company. Earlier in the semifinal matches, defending champions AECK beat 7 time winners KEA while TEC defeated TKM to make stage for the repeat of last year’s finals. In the first semifinal match, batting first after winning the toss, KEA lost wickets at regular intervals and were restricted to a meager 72 for the loss of 6 wickets in 15 overs due to accurate bowling attack by AECK. Shiva (25) and Biju (19) offered some resistance for KEA. AECK, Smithosh (3 for 12) was the pick of the bowlers, where as Remon and Sajeeb took one wicket each. In reply, AECK also failed to put up any big partnerships. But KEA could not make a match out of it due to the low target set by them and 17 runs given as wide. In form Batsman Mahesh (33) made sure AECK reach home in 11.4 overs. Smithosh (AECK) was declared as the ‘Man of the Match’.

In the other semifinals, put to bat by TKM after losing the toss, TEC made a defendable score of 109 for 7 wickets, thanks to useful knocks by Captain Girish (45), Ramesh (19) and Dinto (19). TKM’s captain Anfar took 3 wickets for 27 runs as Ajmal and Ziad took one wicket each. In reply, TKM failed to build up any worthy partnership and lost wickets at regular intervals. They were bowled out for 67 runs in the 15th over. Only Ziad (25) offered some fight. TEC’s Merton (3 for 10) and Dinto (2 for8) made maximum damage, where as Jinesh, Suresh, Sunil and Ramesh shared other 4 wickets. Girish (TEC) was selected as the ‘Man of the Match’.
In the final that followed, winning toss and batting first, AECK put up a formidable 132 for the loss of 3 wickets in their allotted 15 overs, thanks mainly to yet another splendid batting display by Mahesh (79 not out).

For the unbroken 4th wicket partnership Mahesh and Remon (19 n.o) added 74 runs. For TEC, except for Girish (1 for 12), no other bowlers could contain the onslaught from AECK. In reply, TEC lost the wickets of openers Suresh, Sunil (20), captain Girish and Dinto at regular intervals and were reduced to 49 for 4 wickets in the 8th over. But a brilliant 61 run partnership between Ramesh (38) and Pramod (23) raised the hopes of last year’s runner up. But dismissal of both in quick succession and a match winning bowling spell by Nithin (5 for 19) saw TEC fall short by 15 runs in the end of 15th over. Nithin was picked up as the ‘Man of the Match’.
In the presentation ceremony that followed the final match, Tappan (Regional Manager, M/s GTE- Olayan Company), Mohammed. Nooh (GTE- Olayan), Shaji Jose (M/s NCC), Suresh Krishnan (GC Elect - KEF), K. G. Mohan (President - CETAA), Harikumar (CETAA), Jose (Org Committee) and Mohan (Org Committee) gave away cups to the winners (AECK), Runners-up (TEC), ‘Player of the Tournament’ (Mahesh - AECK), ‘Best Batsman’ (Mahesh - AECK), ‘Best Bowler’ (Remon - AECK) and ‘Promising Youngster’ (Rohan Roy Paul - MACE) and the ‘Man of the Match’ of the semifinals matches and finals. Venu (Gen Secretary - CETAA) proposed the vote of thanks.

Read By: 901
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us