AECK, TKM into CETAA semifinals TEC and KEA also advance

KUWAIT CITY, Nov 13: AECK and TKM (from Pool A) joined TEC and KEA in the semi finals after the 2nd days play of the 15th Prof. Ramachandran Memorial Cricket Tournament (RMC) conducted by College of Engineering Trivandrum Alumini Association (CETAA) and sponsored by GTE Olayan Co which is being played at the NCC grounds at Mina Abdullah Industrial area. In the first match, MACE scored a fighting 85 for 8 in 12 overs against AECK mainly due to the liberal AECK attack which conceded 36 extras. A late order flourish by Sandeep (14) and a patient innings by Radha (13) also helped the cause of MACE.  Remon (3 for 7 - man of the match) and Sibi (2 for 11) aided AECK to restrict MACE. In reply the strong AECK batting line up floundered initially but an unbroken 5th wicket partnership of 48 between Shabeer (32 n.o). and Mahesh (25 n.o). managed to get AECK home with 3 balls to spare amidst mounting excitement. In the 2nd match, NIT were skittled out for just 31 by TKM with Varun (4 for 6 - man of the match) being the wrecker-in-chief. TKM easily hit off the required runs in 3.1 overs (Ganga 18 n.o.) to win by 8 wickets. Jacob took both the wickets to fall for NIT.

In the 3rd match, NSS made an imposing 128 for 2 wickets off their 12 overs against host CET mainly due to the batting excellence of Sachin (95 n.o. - man of the match) who carried his bat through the innings. In reply, CET couldn’t keep up with the required run rate and made only 76 for 9 off their 12 overs with Daniel (15) alone reaching double figures leaving NSS worthy winners by 52 runs. The 4th match (to decide the winners of group B) saw TEC score a challenging 128 for 5 wickets in 12 overs with Suresh (32), Girish (31) and Dinto (31) being the stars for TEC. For KEA, Joseph was the leading wicket taker with 2 for 13. In reply, KEA were always behind the asking rate. A late order flourish by Jim (18 n.o.) and Tossy (14 n.o.) couldn’t save KEA and TEC ran out comfortable winners by 38 runs. Opener Tibish (26) was the top scorer for KEA while Girish (2 for 13 - man of the match) was outstanding for TEC.

In the 5th match, (to decide the winners of Pool A), a brilliant batting display by Rafi (69 - man of the match) ably supported by Sajeeb (37) saw AECK score a mammoth 128 for 3 wickets off their 10 overs (match reduced due to late start). Ziyad took 2 wickets for TKM but couldn’t check the flow of runs. In reply TKM scored 67 for 6 in their 10 overs leaving AECK comfortable winners by 61 runs. Nizam (18) was the lone batsman to reach double figures while Smithosh took 2 wickets for AECK. In the last match, NIT again folded up for a small score (42 all out in 11.3 overs) against MACE with Sandeep (4 for 5) and Biju (2 for 10) leading for way for MACE. In reply MACE easily hit off the required runs in 6 overs with 9 wickets to spare. Manu and Jose (13 each) remained not out for MACE. The final day’s schedule (23rd Nov) is as follows: AECK vs KEA and TKM vs TEC at 7 am (semifinals) and the winners to meet in the final at 10 am.


Read By: 1057
Comments: 0

You must login to add comments ...
About Us   |   RSS   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Advertise With Us